1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Getting specific mails from Gmail?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by black_stallion, May 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. black_stallion

black_stallion Thread Starter

I'm a bit new to using email-clients. So here's the thing: I have around 200 emails in my Gmail account which I want saved on my HD(as text,HTML,PDF or any other format that standard word processors can access and edit) I tried Thunderbird,Incredimail and Outlook. But what these applications did was try to download my entire mailbox into the program and then provide me options to save these particular 200 emails I found this rather inconvenient as I have used around 540 MB of my online space apart from the fact that I don't want to shell out 540 megs for all this. So, my question is, is there any way or application I can use to download only specific emails onto my HD? Or say, set options so that my email client will download only particular emails?

2. VistaRookie

VistaRookie

Move the emails from the gmail inbox into another folder,
    leaving only the ones you want to save to your hard
    drive in the inbox.

All email clients will bring in all emails found in the
    gmail inbox.

If you still want a copy left at gmail, be sure to put a
    checkmark next to "leave a copy of message on the
    server."

3. black_stallion

So does that mean I should create another folder in Gmail to move those mails which I don't want to download, keep the ones I want in the "Inbox" and then use an email client? But even if I do this, the email client will download those mails too(regardless of which folder I place them in) How would that work then?

4. VistaRookie

VistaRookie