1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

getting started with video production

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by donnielighto, Jul 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. donnielighto

donnielighto Thread Starter

I am kinda new to the whole world of video production but *stars in eyes* would like to be able to produce short films that ideally can mix animation with live action. What I have in my head as a dream piece of software is something that will allow me to see frame by frame what is on a piece of film footage so that I can add a layer of animation over the top.

I've been googling for a while now and can't seem to get a handle on the right starting point (i.e. which software, preferably freeware) to use

Can anyone help?

Don

2. gotrootdude

gotrootdude

Go to www.dvdrhelp.com and see the guides in the left hand menu.

There's plenty of freeware ways to do what your asking. None of them are easy.

Blaze media pro, may fit the ticket. http://www.blazemp.com/

3. thecoalman

thecoalman

You need a video editor that supports overlays. And animation software that supports outputting overlays. Some animators do both but I'm not aware of one that does both well. Ulead Cool 3-D for example you can create simple animations, you can use a video as the background and animate objects. The way I use it is too import the background to use as a reference to create the animation then remove the video and output as a sequential overlay.... if you use TGA it will output the files with a transparent background. theses files can then be imported into a video editor that supports it. It's great for making titles and other things but again it's for simple work.