1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ghost in the machine.

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Wet Chicken, Sep 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    I've never seen this problem before so the responses here should be interesting :p

    Whenever I try to save something to my desktop it does NOT appear.

    It doesn't matter what program is saving something to the desktop, none of them appear.

    It IS there, but I just can't see it!

    Then when I boot up again *POP * there it is :eek:

    What would cause such a thing to happen :confused:





    and no, I'm not drinking :D
     
  2. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    do you have active desktop?
    if so, what happens when you disable it?
     
  3. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    Hi Kerri Ann. I think Active desktop is turned off, at least there is nothing checked off next to anything :(
     
  4. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
  5. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    Cool beans! :D

    Thanks Kerri Ann, I'll read that tonight ;)
     
  6. Kerri Ann

    Kerri Ann

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    995
    no prob
     
  7. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    Nothing in that article worked :(

    I think that article is for a different problem. That's when you have a lot of stuff on your desktop, and there is no more room to display anything. My desktop has nothing on it. I wonder if it has to do with memory or the video card?
     
  8. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    Hey Wet Chicken

    What is your resolution set to?

    Try this (even though it doesn't sound like it will work):

    Right-click on desktop and select Arrange Icons>Auto Arrange.

    Mine get lost offscreen sometimes, this brings them back.
     
  9. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    OK I just fixed it.

    You right click on the desktop, choose "Active Desktop" then "customize" and then "Show web contents...".

    Then you go back to the desktop a SECOND time, right click again, choose active desktop again, and a brand new menu will appear :rolleyes:

    One of the items is, yep... you guessed it --> Show Desktop Icons :D

    Just once I'd like to ring the neck from someone at Microsoft :p
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/163501

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice