1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

.gif file errors

Discussion in 'Site Help, Feedback, & Announcements' started by deuce, Dec 25, 2001.

Advertisement
  1. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Has anyone else been experiencing problems when trying to save animated gif files from this site? Mike... for some reason now at this site only when ever I try to save animated gifs it only lets me save as a bitmap. This just started a few days ago. Do you think it is a problem on my side or on yours? What do you think I should do to fix it?
     
  2. rhettman5

    rhettman5

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    I think It must be at your end ! But:confused: i don't have a clue how to fix it !!... Rhett PS- tried all the usuals..system restore, d/l anything new lately, change ANY grafics/ photo settings.I have seen you around here enough to know you have probably done all these things, but sometimes we ( I ) forget,,,Rhett
     

    Attached Files:

  3. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Pretty sure it is my a problem on side... but just trying to cover my bases and get it solved. :) :(
     
  4. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    deuce_mn,

    It the site's php code.

    Just add the file type to the name.

    To save image as a .gif just name it image.gif.

    The site that let you upload images to there site so your friends can see them do the very samething because they want you to buy prints.
    Don't know why they di it here.

    But the way check the .bmp you said you saved.
    Is it really a .bmp or is it a .php file.


    PHP PHP Script
    PHP Hypertext Preprocessor (Personal Home Page)
    http://www.cknow.com/ckinfo/acro_p/php_1.shtml
     
  5. rhettman5

    rhettman5

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    So why did I have no trouble saving his gif and posting as gif (see above attachment)... Rhett...:) inquiring minds want to know !
     
  6. TechGuy

    TechGuy Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    14,244
    First Name:
    Mike
    Indeed, the forums use PHP. However, just like HTML, it only points to the images. I don't see why it would be any different from the browser's perpective -- the only difference is how it's run before being served to the user.

    What browser are you using?
     
  7. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    IE 5.5 It does it now on everything. The only file type it lets me save as is a bitmap. I havent' tired just adding the extension in the name yet.
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  9. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Well I have tried twice now deleting temp internet files from in IE and it just stops responding. In a minute I'll do it via other means. Thanks for the tip though... :)
     
  10. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Try it in DOS:

    Start/Shutdown/Restart in MS-DOS.
    Type the following lines, each one followed by clicking enter:

    cd windows (unless you're in C:\Windows already, obviously)
    smartdrv
    deltree tempor~1
    exit
    or win (to return to Windows)

    Good luck,
     
  11. deuce

    deuce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Got it to work... thanks for the help. (and I freed up 200 MB too... :)) Now gif is saving as gif, jpg as jpg and everything is great. :)
     
  12. trancedazn

    trancedazn

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    im having trouble with that gif thing too! uhh...how did u get it to work? could any one please post the instructions again?! i might change to mozilla browser...hehe.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62849

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice