1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Gigabit port on switch makes things slower

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LarryCore, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LarryCore

    LarryCore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Just added a gigabit port to a 3COM 48 port switch. Conneced the server to it via an Intel 1000 Pro Server card (which was connected to a 10/100 port before) and network speed dropped. Database sorts that used to take about 1 minute now take almost 3.

    I don't get it. I added the gigabit port to speed things up.

    Help!
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    What OS are you running on the server? Is you cabling up to specs for Gigabit? CAT5e wired correctly with all 4 pair in proper sequence. Are you sure that port was meant to be added to connect another server into or as an uplink for another switch?
     
  3. LarryCore

    LarryCore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Try a CAT5e cable for your connection. If any of the workstations are of the Win9x or earlier will actually run slower ....95 for sure because the IP stack isn't up to the task. Do the card and NIC negotiate a 1000 connection?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't see why a CAT6 cable would be less desirable than a CAT5e cable? :rolleyes:

    Yes, I realize that there is really no such thing as a CAT6 cable yet, since that spec has not made it through the standards committees yet, but I doubt it affects the function of the cable. :)
     
  6. LarryCore

    LarryCore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Sorry, forgot to mention that I did try a CAT5e cable that was already there, just in case the new cable was bad or something.

    The workstations I was testing are running Windows XP Pro.

    The server shows a 1000 connection, as do the LEDs on the switch.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'm tinkering with a couple of gigabit cards in two of my systems, so far I'm not blown away with the results. :( I have them installed and connected directly, and while they work, the difference is not that significant. Also, it seems faster in one direction than the other, even though both systems are roughly the same speed. I haven't spent any time on the project yet, but I think gigabit is considerably more "fussy" about stuff than plain old 100mbit Ethernet. :) I'm getting a 5 port gigabit switch and I'm going to remove the slower NIC and just have one, maybe that will ease the configuration issues and perform more as I expect.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169138

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice