Gigabit port on switch makes things slower

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

LarryCore

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 26, 1999
Messages
5,223
Just added a gigabit port to a 3COM 48 port switch. Conneced the server to it via an Intel 1000 Pro Server card (which was connected to a 10/100 port before) and network speed dropped. Database sorts that used to take about 1 minute now take almost 3.

I don't get it. I added the gigabit port to speed things up.

Help!
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
What OS are you running on the server? Is you cabling up to specs for Gigabit? CAT5e wired correctly with all 4 pair in proper sequence. Are you sure that port was meant to be added to connect another server into or as an uplink for another switch?
 

LarryCore

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 26, 1999
Messages
5,223
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Try a CAT5e cable for your connection. If any of the workstations are of the Win9x or earlier will actually run slower ....95 for sure because the IP stack isn't up to the task. Do the card and NIC negotiate a 1000 connection?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I don't see why a CAT6 cable would be less desirable than a CAT5e cable? :rolleyes:

Yes, I realize that there is really no such thing as a CAT6 cable yet, since that spec has not made it through the standards committees yet, but I doubt it affects the function of the cable. :)
 

LarryCore

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 26, 1999
Messages
5,223
Sorry, forgot to mention that I did try a CAT5e cable that was already there, just in case the new cable was bad or something.

The workstations I was testing are running Windows XP Pro.

The server shows a 1000 connection, as do the LEDs on the switch.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I'm tinkering with a couple of gigabit cards in two of my systems, so far I'm not blown away with the results. :( I have them installed and connected directly, and while they work, the difference is not that significant. Also, it seems faster in one direction than the other, even though both systems are roughly the same speed. I haven't spent any time on the project yet, but I think gigabit is considerably more "fussy" about stuff than plain old 100mbit Ethernet. :) I'm getting a 5 port gigabit switch and I'm going to remove the slower NIC and just have one, maybe that will ease the configuration issues and perform more as I expect.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top