1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Given up on AMD

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ramstein, Feb 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ramstein

ramstein Thread Starter

I have spent the entire weekend trying to build a system with an Athlon 2200+ CPU that can play the game S.W.I.N.E

Its a long story. I've been supplying computers since 1988. I used to build XT's with those devilish RLL and MFM controllers driving 10MB Hard Drives that sounded like a sawmill cutting metal. The reason I say this is because I don't want forum guys to look at this thread and think... oh no.. another lame duck.

I keep away from Athlons because I know they are a pain in the but. Unfortunately I have business clients who buy bucket loads of Intel PCs off me and DEMAND Athlon for their kids at home.

This weekend I have tried the following

2 x Soltek 75FRV Motherboards
    1 x Soltek 75FRN-L Motherboard
    1 x Asustek A7V8x Motherboard

1 x 64MB Geforce 4 DDR Graphics Card
    1 x 128MB MSI ti4200 ----ditto---

1 x 512MB Samsung 333 DDR
    1 x 256MB 2100 PQI DDR - worked better than Samsung i.e. didn't shut down PC

1 x 40 GIG Seagate 5400
    1 x 80 GIG Maxtor 7200
    1 x 40 GIG Maxtor 5400

300w Mercury PSu
    300w Super Flower PSU
    400w Mercury PSU

2 x 2200+ XP
    1 x 2400+ XP

1 x Creative Audigy

Windows XP Home with Service PAck 1

Since 7 am Saturday morning until 6pm this evening (Monday) trying every rotation known to man, reloading XP six times, uploading all the service packs 32 of them on the last 2 occasions I have not been successful in getting the game S.W.I.N.E to play. When 3D is used it gives a corrupt screen as if bad memory. dxdiag reports OK on dx8.1.
    I spoke to AMD, Soltek, Fishtank, no-one can help me.