Glitchy screen on laptop

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

zephyrseven

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3
Hello, upon starting up my laptop I get a screen that looks similar to this:



I did not take this pic, I found it off the internet. And its not nearly this bad, I can somewhat read the startup text behind it. But it wont get past startup. I was thinking it would either be a fried motherboard, or something wrong with the hard drive. I'm not sure which, what is the problem?

Extra details: It might be heat related problem, as my laptop gets really hot.
 

zephyrseven

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3
I did get an external cooling pad. and cleaned out the heatsink and fan which were covered in dust. Now the problem is I don't know whats wrong with my computer
 

TonyB25

Banned
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
2,540
If the fans were clogged with dust and a cooling pad helped, the problem was heat.
 

zephyrseven

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3
Okay thank you, but can you help with the glitching screen issue now. What should I be checking for to replace or what not.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
773
I work at a computer repair store & the tech's are always telling me that laptops are difficult to repair because the only way to replace most of the components is to take the entire laptop apart which can take hours. There advice is to replace the laptop if it's more than a couple of years old & doesn't have a warranty.
 

TonyB25

Banned
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
2,540
Heat damages computers. If it was that hot, it must have damaged something. The way to fix that is to start replacing parts, but that can get pretty expensive with laptops.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
If possible connect an external monitor to the laptop and check if the display on that is ok and let us know.

Because Graphics often uses some system ram, especially in laptops, another thing to try is testing the Ram stick(s) - reseat them in the socket(s) and if no change test them with memtest :-
http://www.wikihow.com/Test-PC-Ram-with-MemTest86
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top