GoBack Conflict After New Motherboad and Processor Installed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

karlmoll

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
12
I've used GoBack 3 Delux (from Roxio but now owned by Symantec) for years without trouble and I love it. After just recently switching to a new motherboard, processor and video card (ABIT AV8, Athlon 64 and GeForce 6800 GT AGP8X) GoBack hung and gave me a blue screen with a Stop error message. I couldn't disable or remove GoBack and I've had to repartition and do all that that implies to get running again. Luckily I had a backup. I didn't install it again, but it's saved me so many times I hate to give it up. I've never seen anything like this before and wonder if it isn't related to my new motherboard drivers or configuration. I've heard some IDE drivers cause a conflict with GoBack on XP machines, but am not aware of any problems on 2000. It appears Symantec doesn't support this program anymore so no luck there. Help, I'm ready to scream!
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Well, with all the changes tht you made, it was the same as taking out the HD and sticking it into a totally different machine!

I think that prior to doing that you should have either shutoff GoBack, or unintalled it. We do know that XP does not like to have a Heart transplant...I can't speak for 2000. So, I don't think that these results we unpredictable.

If you have started over fresh now, and reinstall GoBack, I think it should work.
 

karlmoll

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
12
Actually no. Immediately after changing out the motherboard and video card, I did a complete fresh install of everything starting with the operating system. The GoBack problem occurred after that.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
karlmoll said:
I did a complete fresh install of everything starting with the operating system. The GoBack problem occurred after that.

So, then you formatted the HD and then did a fresh install?

Or did you install on top of the existing setup?

If you did the FIRST, then it would appear that there is a problem with GoBack and your new setup.
 
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
3,895
i know a few years ago i had a problem with the two programs. a comp tech told me to take both programs out of my system.LOL
 

karlmoll

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
12
I've had no choice. I've had to keep GoBack off my system in order for it to run at all. But that comment from the technician is really the easy way out for him. I'm sure there is an answer to this somewhere. What's the second program you're talking about, Win 2000?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top