1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Going from XP to something new

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by NightWolf909, Nov 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NightWolf909

    NightWolf909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, I've been using Win XP for 8 years now and I want to try something new. I was wondering how would Vista or Win 7 work on this configuration:

    Gigabyte GA-7VA
    AMD Athlon 1700+ (1473 Mhz)
    2 Gb Kingston DDR ram
    ATI Radeon 9550 256 Mb
    Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 7200 RPM - 60 Gb

    I mainly use PC for work (internet marketing), multimedia, and some gaming (none of the recent stuff of course).

    Tnx!
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Don't even consider Vista, not because it isn't good because I think it is, but because 7 works much better on lower-end machines in general, and so, of course, on the higher-end ones, too.

    It will run fine on that machine, though I would have to look up that card too see if it would support all the eye-candy. Otherwise, you'd have just the basic theme.

    Download and run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor. Of course, if you plan a fresh installation, you can ignore any software incompatibilities it finds and pay attention only to hardware results.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,887
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here is the support site for the Gigabyte GA-7VA motherboard.

    It has 3 slots and supports up to 3 GB of DDR PC2700(DDR333) or DDR PC3200(DDR400) RAM.

    It has a 4x/8x AGP slot for adding a video card.

    The fastest processor it supports is the AMD Athlon XP 3200+ (2.33 GHz).

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    Your computer currently has the AMD Athlon XP 1700+ (1.47 GHz).

    It currently has the ATI Radeon 9550 - which isn't supported by Windows Vista and Windows 7.

    You're going to need to upgrade to a different video card and possibly even a faster processor.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    I agree with Elvandil.

    If you have a choice between the 2 operating systems, go with Windows 7.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. NightWolf909

    NightWolf909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Elvandil for a quick reply!

    I've just did upgrade advisor:

    (y) Windows Aero support
    (y) CPU speed: 1.5Ghz
    (y) 2 Gb of RAM
    (y) 18.9 Gb free space avaible

    (y) ATI Radeon 9500 / X1050 Series
    (y) Vinyl AC'97 Codec Combo Driver
    :confused: Scientific-Atlanta WebSTAR 2000 series Cable Modem


    That's it. It only reported my cable modem as "?", but I guess it would work on Win 7?

    Should I go with Win 7 than? I can get any version, so Ultimate?
    Or stay with XP?
    I'm just concerned with my PC performance under Win 7, I heard that it eats memory like crazy. :)
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,887
    First Name:
    Frank
    Windows 7 Home Premium SP1(32-bit) should suffice for your needs.

    You've got the option of adding another 1 GB of RAM.

    What's the power supply wattage?

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    All the graphic "eye candy" and aero glass features puts a big load on an old computer.

    By disabling the aero glass features and most of the "eye candy", it can make a big difference in performance.

    I'm running Windows 7 in a 9-year old Gateway E-4000 desktop, and it runs fine.

    I'm not a gamer and just use it for basic computing functions.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. NightWolf909

    NightWolf909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I don't know the exact power supply wattage because mine died last year and a friend gave me his spare supply.

    One more thing, does it matter, requirement vise, which version I install? Because I've got a free license for any Win. (University privilege)
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,887
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here is the comparison between Home Premium, Professional, and Ultimate.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/products/compare

    --------------------------------------------------------

    I don't know how well your AMD Athlon 1700+ 1.47 GHz processor would perform with Windows 7, compared to the Intel Pentium IV 2.00 GHz processor in my old desktop.

    Maybe Elvandil or one of the hardware experts can comment on that.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    I very much doubt that. Student discount editions are usually limited to Pro and Premium.
     
  9. NightWolf909

    NightWolf909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Whoops my bad :D

    I can choose from this 32-bit versions:

    Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 32-bit (English)
    Microsoft Windows 7 Professional with Service Pack 1 Debug/Checked Build 32-bit (English)

    Which one?
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Win 7 will use memory, but I wouldn't go so far as to say that it "eats it like crazy". I just upgraded this machine from 2 to 4 GB's. It runs better with multiple applications running, but it ran pretty well with 2 GB's, too.
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,887
    First Name:
    Frank
  12. NightWolf909

    NightWolf909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you guys very much, you've been the most helpful!

    I'm atm doing backup of all my files and I'm gonna do a fresh Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 32-bit installation in a few hours.

    Thanks again!

    p.s. If you have any tips for a Win 7 newbie, let's hear them hehe
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,887
    First Name:
    Frank
    Read this install guide and look at the images so you can get familiar with what to expect before you start.

    http://www.blackviper.com/Articles/OS/Install_7/install_7a.htm

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    Make sure to disconnect all unnecessary external devices before you start.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. NightWolf909

    NightWolf909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Tnx flavallee!

    I'm skimming through Google hits and I don't see a Win 7 version of driver for my modem (Scientific-Atlanta WebSTAR 2000 series Cable Modem). What do you think will I have problem with this?
     
  15. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,887
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you're referring to your high-speed cable modem, it shouldn't need any Windows driver.

    It's the integrated network adapter or network card in your computer that'll need a Windows 7 driver.

    Windows 7 may install a driver for it automatically.

    You'll find out afterwards which drivers(if any) didn't get installed.

    Go to Control Panel - Device Manager, then you'll pretty well know for sure.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026979

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice