good comp, bad quality.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

msmolinski21

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
22
I recently installed Halo:Combat Evolved and Doom 3 on my computer which I thought was pretty good and would run games really well. Unfortunately, I have to run Doom 3 on 640 resolution and Halo on 800, disabling high quality textures and shadowing, etc. Even then they are still really choppy. I have a P4 2.8 Ghz, Windows xp pro, 512 RAM, 800 Mhz FSB, GeForce FX 5600 128 Mb video card, and plenty of hard drive space. It's really annoying that I paid about a thousand dollars for it and it has really crappy quality. Please send help before I put my head through my monitor. Thanks.
 

Couriant

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
35,664
First Name
James
Have you:

Updated your drivers?
Updated your DirectX?
Installed SP2?
 

msmolinski21

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
22
Yes, Yes, and No. SP 2 causes my system to crash and I uninstalled it. I really don't think that that would be the problem though. One should be able to run games pretty well on SP 1.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
506
to be honest, thats not the best price for that computer.

i got a 2.1 ghz, 1gb ram, geforce fx 5600xt 256mb, and i got that for 1000. i know i got ripped.

that graphics card isnt the best for todays games. i get about 60 fps max in doom 3, but it doesnt usually go lower than 20 in heated action. HL2 can get bad at times, but again, its usually around 50-70 fps.

might wanna think about upgrading that graphics card.
 

msmolinski21

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
22
I don't know much about computers, but I do know that my current system is enough to handle Halo so that it runs better than it is right now. I don't feel the need to upgrade and think that it's something more than bad hardware.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
1,756
msmolinski21 said:
I recently installed Halo:Combat Evolved and Doom 3 on my computer which I thought was pretty good and would run games really well. Unfortunately, I have to run Doom 3 on 640 resolution and Halo on 800, disabling high quality textures and shadowing, etc. Even then they are still really choppy. I have a P4 2.8 Ghz, Windows xp pro, 512 RAM, 800 Mhz FSB, GeForce FX 5600 128 Mb video card, and plenty of hard drive space. It's really annoying that I paid about a thousand dollars for it and it has really crappy quality. Please send help before I put my head through my monitor. Thanks.
A faster videocard would help you, there. The FX5600 is only middle of the road.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top