1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Good sites for quickly finding specs?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Skye55, Mar 7, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Skye55

Skye55 Thread Starter

I am new here, if I sound like I don't know whats going on then most likely I don't! I like to work with hard drives for a hobby. I buy old/used systems and tinker around some then usually give it to a friend if it is in working order and a complete system with a licesnse key. My husband has about had it with my varied collection of dustly old computer pieces and parts. My goal,generally, is to figure out whats wrong and get it up and running again by not giving up on it until I decide is is really DOA. Again, just for fun. I am self taught as I have never had much money to buy a working/new confuser so I began cannibalizing machines a long time ago so I could actually have a working one.

That said, I come across myriad stickers with various numbers and names on them. The license key is simple to spot but the rest of the information isn't always as easy. Does anyone have a site(s) to share that might 1) break down info generally printed on the sticker affixed to the case of a laptop or tower and 2) that will help me quickly locate a model/SN so I can tell just what came with/loaded/on the machine from the factory originally. That is where I like to start. Most people I buy old computers from say things like :"It was hardly used" like new" or "comes fully loaded" when I ask for any specs and or upgrades.

Thank you for your help.

Skye

2. MMKnight

MMKnight

First Name:
    Mike
    Hi Skye,