1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Google can't find me

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by island woman, Feb 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. island woman

island woman Thread Starter

I set up my site using the free Yahoo site builder. When I put my URL in the google address bar , it goes to my site. When I put my name in the search bar on the google page, which is where most people will put it, it can't find me.
    Google only finds parts of my name which, combined, point to other sites not mine. Since my domain name is the exact combination of my name, why does google not find me and instead points to sites that are not exact. I am an artist and people will only find me under my name, as all artist are found on the internet. I won't be found under "art", or "artist"
    I thought this would be automatic. I don't want to pay $150 to some on-line site that says it will somehow "put me on the map"
    Help!

2. tj416

tj416

3. Rockn

Rockn

Umm most people winn NOT put your address in the Google search bar. It takes quite a while for search engines to index web sites and you have to submit your site or have reciprical links to your site on others web sites to make it index faster. You should also consider adding meta tags to your web pages coding. It takes a while...sometimes months for sites to get indexed.

4. CoasterFreak

CoasterFreak

First Name:
    Everett
    It generally takes about 2-8 weeks for your URL to be crawled, and thats even if it is. I've noticed google will not add all URLs that are submitted. I finally got google looking at my site, and I often find it indexing my Forums (Googlebot). But it does take some time.

5. Doug Vitale

Doug Vitale