Google Earth

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

puppypaws

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
144
I decided I wanted to download Google Earth 6.0 and have a problem. I have downloaded this on other computers with good results. This time it sits there attempting to initialize, but never completes. I eventually "control, alt, delete," and it tells me the program is not responding. I have removed the program and attempted reload several times with the same results. I am 61 years of age, and by far lacking in computer knowledge most of the younger generation possesses. Can anyone help me with this problem (which in all reality there should be none), but something is just not meshing up.

Thanks,

Reid
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
What are your current Antivirus and Antispyware programs and how often do they scan?
 

puppypaws

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
144
Think you just had your first virus issue....download and install this then run a scan and let us know:
www.malwarebytes.com
I run malwarebytes every couple of weeks anyway, so I am going to run it now. I think if there was a virus involved it would affect more than Google Earth, what do you think?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
I run malwarebytes every couple of weeks anyway, so I am going to run it now. I think if there was a virus involved it would affect more than Google Earth, what do you think?
I certainly agree with you but often times it takes a while to we see all the extent of the damage an intruder can do.
 

puppypaws

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
144
I certainly agree with you but often times it takes a while to we see all the extent of the damage an intruder can do.

I just finished running a full scan with malwarebytes, no virus! Reinstalled Google Earth and the same problem arises, it freezes in the initialization process. You will see the Google Earth screen at about a 40% size and in the task bar it says initializing, this never finishes. I then go into the task manager where it says the initialization is " Not Responding," this requires me to end the process.
 

puppypaws

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
144
I meant to tell you I am a dog person as well, personally own 2 Black Labs, 2 Eskimo Spitz, 1 Chow mix, I Whippet mix, and 1 Rotweller mix. I love my dogs.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
After creating a new incremental backup with Acronis and just to see how it would go, I began the process of updating Google Earth where I found v6 is a beta release. Not withstanding you have installed v6 beta successfully on some other systems, I suggest you consider waiting for the full release version and try again. Betas can be quirky.

You may also want to consider providing feedback to Google about the problem you are having.

Raybro
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Wow you proved it to me, thought between your username and avatar I was pretty sure!
I meant to tell you I am a dog person as well, personally own 2 Black Labs, 2 Eskimo Spitz, 1 Chow mix, I Whippet mix, and 1 Rotweller mix. I love my dogs.
 

puppypaws

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
144
After creating a new incremental backup with Acronis and just to see how it would go, I began the process of updating Google Earth where I found v6 is a beta release. Not withstanding you have installed v6 beta successfully on some other systems, I suggest you consider waiting for the full release version and try again. Betas can be quirky.

You may also want to consider providing feedback to Google about the problem you are having.

Raybro
Do you have a reputable download site for the 5.2 version of Google Earth?
 

LauraMJ

Administrator
Joined
Mar 18, 2004
Messages
13,392
Can you download other largish programs without any problems?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
puppypaws... To clarify a point.. Are you downloading an executable file and then having the problem during install, or are you attempting to install from the web and having the problem.

Raybro
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top