1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Google Question

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by MMJ, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MMJ

    MMJ Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    In Google searches certain websites such as techguy and microsoft, have approx. 4 or 5 link under them. Is this Google's choice or is there a way to do this? I looked at the source but that didn't help much. Thanks. :)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Molucky

    Molucky

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Hope this answers your question.

    taken from http://www.google.com/addurl/?continue=/addurl

    "Only the top-level page from a host is necessary; you do not need to submit each individual page. Our crawler, Googlebot, will be able to find the rest."
     
  3. MMJ

    MMJ Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    It is not 100% clear about where the link will show but I think this is it.

    Thanks a ton for your help. :)
     
  4. Freeware

    Freeware

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    I think (by completely guessing on the first point, though possibly influenced by things I've read and since partially forgotten; with the latter point concluded by general observation) that there are two key factors involved:

    • Set up a Google Sitemap
    • Be number 1 in the search results
    Hope that helps (y)

     
  5. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    I think that Google just groups pages with the same domain under the main domain as a list. :)
     
  6. Freeware

    Freeware

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    i think if you haven't submitted a sitemap, google will only show two pages max, with the second indented, and then provide a link to get more pages from that site. i could be wrong though. do you have any evidence to support the theory you mentioned, eriksrocks?
     
  7. MMJ

    MMJ Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    So how come it only does that for certain pages? :)
     
  8. Freeware

    Freeware

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Well, it's a valid suggestion. It could be that it only happens when several pages of the same site rank above any page from other sites.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537064