1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Google Search Results Display Different

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Money Pit, Jun 17, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Money Pit

    Money Pit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,129
    First Name:
    Dave
    My Google search results are displaying differently to-day. Maybe something I changed? Any help getting it back to the original view will be greatly appreciated. Please see "screen shot" enclosed. Thanks: Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,268
    First Name:
    James
    Are you talking about the top part where it looks like the fonts have changed?

    If so, try a reset:

    upload_2019-6-17_8-9-5.png

    Passwords/cache will not be affected.
     
  3. Money Pit

    Money Pit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,129
    First Name:
    Dave
    Thanks very much James. I have it figured out. I disabled "Java Script" from running. After enabling it, everything is back to normal now. I really would like to replace "java" with something more secure but that's a question for another thread. Thanks again Sir!
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,268
    First Name:
    James
    Well Java and Javascript are different things. I can't remember if Java is not supported by Chrome, or if it is, Chrome handles it.
     
  5. Money Pit

    Money Pit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,129
    First Name:
    Dave
    I'm looking to replace java script because I've read it has security issues? I've used it for 20 years with no problems though <shrug>. Seems one has keep current to stop the "bad guys"
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,268
    First Name:
    James
    As long as it's updated when vulnerabilities are found you should be fine.
     
  7. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,307
    I had to install regular JAVA on my front computer this weekend to get the menus to display right on movies on my new Blu-ray player/burner.
     
  8. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,637
    Money Pit,

    I believe you are referring to the search results surrounded by boxes and fewer of them on a page, am I correct?

    I had the same issue and haven't yet found a solution.

    What exactly did you do? You don't install javascript, it's either enabled or disabled in your browser.

    Did you install Oracle Java?

    It's odd that Google would make us install an insecure program to get the display correct.

    Here's a link to a post in my thread showing the different displays.

    https://forums.techguy.org/threads/google-search-results-framed-in-individual-boxes.1227619/
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019
  9. Money Pit

    Money Pit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,129
    First Name:
    Dave
    Yes to question one.
    I had javascript enabled then I disabled javascript then I experienced search results as you mention "cookie". Then when I cleared my cashe & cookies and enabled javascript, everything went back to normal.
    I don't have Oracle Java installed, ONLY Javascript. Sorry for any confusion.
    Hope this helps? Dave :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2019
  10. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,637
    Yes thanks Dave.
     
  11. Money Pit

    Money Pit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,129
    First Name:
    Dave
    OK, now I'm confused. I deleted "Java" and everything is still OK but .... Did I also at the same time delete "JavaScript"? My understanding is that Java is from Oracle and JavaScript is from Mozilla? I'm trying to see if my JavaScript needs to be updated but I can't see how? Gawd, I swear I get dumber by the day GEeeeez. Dave :eek:
     
  12. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,637
    You don't need Java these days generally. Most sites are moving away from it because of its vulnerabilities. Javascript is not from Mozilla. Javascript is a programming language and using it is a functionality that you can enable or disable in your browser. You cannot install or delete it.
     
  13. Money Pit

    Money Pit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,129
    First Name:
    Dave
    OK! So I don't have to update it ever?
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,637
    Not Javascript, no.
     
  15. Money Pit

    Money Pit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,129
    First Name:
    Dave
    Great Thanks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1228717

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice