Got my Mobo Replaced....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Hello. Just recently I got my motherboard replaced. Now when I start up it is not detecting my CD-ROM drive. It did this when i furst put my rig together and I had to re-install windows. Do I have to do this again (I really woudn't like to). Or is there a way to do it with out reformatting?

Operating System is Windows XP, I upgraded from Windows 98 SE.

Thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
After replacing the motherboard, you had no trouble booting into XP????

If so, congrats, that is a first. Hate to ask it, but since you were inside the computer, is the cdrom plugged in ;)
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Messages
736
Might be worth a double check of jumpers and cables. Just a reiminder here:


Make sure you have the master and slave jumpers setup correctly on your hard drives. The jumper schematic is usually displayed on the top of the drive.

DO NOT mix the master and slave settings. For Example, do not mix Master and Cable Select on the same ribbon cable. If one is Master the other must be slave. If one is Cable Select, the other should also be Cable Select. (Please note that the majority of hard drives are factory default as Cable Select)

One needs also to make sure the drive is placed correctly on the ribbon cable as shown below:

M
O
T
H ==Ribbon Cable=== Slave ===Master (end of cable)
E
R ..................................„» OR „º
B
O == Ribbon Cable==Cable Select==Cable Select (end of cable)
A ..............................( as Slave)……. ( as Master)
R
D


Oh, also remember that the floppy cable red mark is put on opposite as the regular hard drivers. Otherwise, the red mark faces away from you as you work in the case.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
AcaCandy''s right. Thats the first place to start; check that the CD-ROM has its power and data connected and that the data cable is conencted to the motherboard. Also make sure that the red strip on the IDE cable is going to pin 1 on the motherbaoprd and next to the power connector on the drive itself. Also see if its set on Master(preferred) or Cable Select(doesn't always work right). Next check the BIOS to make sure the Secondary IDE is enabled and that is set to AUTO or CD-ROM - usually theres an AUTODETECT option to detect your drives. Finally in Windows check Device Manager to see if it appears there.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Okay on the master/slave thing. I have a S-ATA HD that is showing up fine. I have ASUS cables connecting the CD-ROM to the Mobo. I have three colors of plugs on these cables, grey, black, and blue. On mobo (asus p4p800 deluxe) I have 2 possible spots that that can go in, one is blue, and one is black. So with my cables like this, and my motherboard set up like that, what color of 40 pin ( i think) connecter should be connected to my CD-ROM, and what should me connected to my mobo.

Here is my problem if it's not a question of just getting the cables right. Last time I needed to re-install window98 SE because there was no way to get the CD Driver installed, without using the CD that came with the Drive. And since it was not detecting my CD-ROM drive, i had no way of installing it.

Anyways, thanks for the help in-so-far.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Make sure the CD-ROM is connected to the regular Primary or Secondary IDE port on the motherboard. Your board also has two RAID IDE controllers, do not use these. Check your motherboard manual to see which ports are which.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Okay the CD-ROM is connected to the motherboard in the IDE (not RAID port, checked the manual) port. I'm going to restard, plug them back in, and see if it does anything.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
81
did you go into your cmos and make sure that it is reading your cdrom correctly it might be turned off on the ide channel you are using if it is a newer cdrom I believe win xp will just use a standard atapi driver for it which I think is load with winxp catalog.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Still nothing, everything in the BIOS is set to auto detect. I didn't really understand the last post. is there a way to get the Driver without the Windows CD?

Thanks.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Drivers such as those for CD-ROMS are installed with XP, you do not need the CD for this. You can and should go to the ASUS website and download the Intel Chipset INF and Intel Application Accelerator and install those. These are required for proper operastion of the motherboard and devices.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Can you boot with a boot disk with cdrom support and access the drive? I'm assuming the tray opens and closes?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy folks...

FYI...

DDC...

I have ASUS cables connecting the CD-ROM to the Mobo. I have three colors of plugs on these cables, grey, black, and blue.
The way these colors are connected are also important ( although may not be the problem)...

Blue: The blue connector attaches to the host (motherboard or controller).

Gray: The gray connector is in the middle of the cable, and goes to any slave (device 1) drive if present on the channel.

Black: The black connector is at the opposite end from the host connector and goes to the master drive (device 0), or a single drive if only one is used.

Heres some reading on why these need to be connected this way...

http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/if/ide/confCable80-c.html
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Well I've decided to just reformat and install Windows 98, that always recognized the CD-ROM right off. Then upgrade to XP (because thats all i have, don't have the full install).

It did this exact same thing, like i said, when i first installed Windows 98 a few months back, what it took was to reformat and install.

One more thing though, could it be there is something wrong with the CD-ROM Drive? Because right now it wont open. Shoudn't it still open even though nothing is recognizing it?


Thanks.
 

DDC

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
232
Any thoughts on the last question in my previous post?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
One more thing though, could it be there is something wrong with the CD-ROM Drive? Because right now it wont open. Shoudn't it still open even though nothing is recognizing it?
If it has power it should open, try power down, unplug the ribbon cable leave the power, and see if it will open...

Did you check to make sure that the cable connectors was connected correctly ?

Blue: The blue connector attaches to the host (motherboard or controller).

Gray: The gray connector is in the middle of the cable, and goes to any slave (device 1) drive if present on the channel.

Black: The black connector is at the opposite end from the host connector and goes to the master drive (device 0), or a single drive if only one is used.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top