1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

gpedit.msc is missing..!!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Lock, May 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lock

    Lock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    According to this...

    in Admin Tools, there are 12 tools.
    But in mine, there just 10 tools. 2 are missing...
    -Local Security Policy. (gpedit.msc)
    -Print Management
    I don't know much about Print Management, but for Group Policy ...I need it..!!
    I checked in system32 folder, it's not there.
    How could I get it back?? I have Vista DVD but I didn't see there's anyway to repair system file. There's just startup repair.

    Thanks for help..
    Lock.
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Local Security Policy is secpol.msc

    Try typing gpedit.msc in the Run box.
     
  3. Lock

    Lock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Tired that already.....
    "Windows cannot find "gpedit.msc" make sure....."

    in system32 folder ...there are 16 file that is "Microsoft Common Console Document" file type...exclude gpedit.msc and also secpol.msc

    azman.msc
    certmgr.msc
    comexp.msc
    compmgmt.msc
    devmgmt.msc
    diskmgmt.msc
    eventvwr.msc
    fsmgmt.msc
    lusrmgr.msc
    NAPCLCFG.msc
    perfmon.msc
    services.msc
    taskschd.msc
    tpm.msc
    WF.msc
    WmiMgmt.msc

    ......Thanks
     
  4. kama64

    kama64

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    What version of Vista u got?
     
  5. uhaligani

    uhaligani Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    If you are running Vista home, you do not have group policy so cannot use gpedit.msc
     
  6. Lock

    Lock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Home Basic and Home Premium Both??

    Mine is Home Premium.

    :(
     
  7. kama64

    kama64

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    Ya, you cant access it in either of those..you need Ultimate for sure
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    The only versions that have group policy are the domain-based versions:

    • Windows Vista, Small Business Edition

    • Windows Vista, Professional Edition

    • Windows Vista, Enterprise Edition

    • Windows Vista, Ultimate

    • Windows Server "Longhorn"
     
  9. Lock

    Lock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks...
    but what if I need to config my com. Is there any tool or program that have same features (almost) as group policy??
    If yes, where can I download it....

    T_T
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    There are a lot of tweaking tools that you can use. Basically speaking, if you need to do things that policy allows, you need to get the OS that has policy installed.

    Vista Manager, X-Setup, TweakVI, and TweakNow PowerPack have Vista versions. Group Policy snap-ins are just an easy way of implementing registry changes that can be done manually in most cases.
     
  11. CHdennis2

    CHdennis2

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Vista Manager, X-Setup, TweakVI, and TweakNow PowerPack have Vista versions. Group Policy snap-ins are just an easy way of implementing registry changes that can be done manually in most cases.

    Can you please break that down a bit for me? Is this something a rookie can handle? I have not messed with registries so I am not sure if I should even spend the money on the TweakNow software? I need to get this going so that I can access my server at work. I may be forced into plugging my old XP computer in, hopefully not??

    Thanks,
    Dennis
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/570289