GPU GeForce 8800 GT Issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JvLeger

Hi my name is Jason. I know the GPU I have is old but I'm a disabled military veteran who cant afford a new one. Im looking for some help trying to figure out the issue im having with it. I thought it was an overheating issue which was causing the GPU to overheat and shut off. I checked the temp and it was at 120F and was running fine. All of a sudden ill hear the ding as if I disconnected something then my monitor goes blank. My computer is still running and I hear all the sounds and everything. I've downloaded the latest drivers and installed them. I also turned up the fan speed to see if that would help. I'm stuck and have no clue what to do. Any help would be wonderful. Ty.

dai

what are you running
video card brand and model
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and temperatures and post them

sounds like it is underpowered or faulty psu

JvLeger

MSI 7512 MOBO
Coolmaster 550W PSU
GeForce 8800 GT Videocard
4 Gigs of DDR2 Ram

It sounded like it just turned off now and I unplug my monitor from it and plug it back in and it came back on. I thought it was an overheating issue but I dont think it is cuz I just turned my computer back on.

JvLeger

I restart my computer after it happens and it never fixes the problem. My monitor still never comes on. I let it sit for awhile and then turn it back on and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesnt. Thats how I figured out its not overheating.