1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

GPU GeForce 8800 GT Issues

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JvLeger, Jan 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JvLeger

JvLeger Thread Starter

Hi my name is Jason. I know the GPU I have is old but I'm a disabled military veteran who cant afford a new one. Im looking for some help trying to figure out the issue im having with it. I thought it was an overheating issue which was causing the GPU to overheat and shut off. I checked the temp and it was at 120F and was running fine. All of a sudden ill hear the ding as if I disconnected something then my monitor goes blank. My computer is still running and I hear all the sounds and everything. I've downloaded the latest drivers and installed them. I also turned up the fan speed to see if that would help. I'm stuck and have no clue what to do. Any help would be wonderful. Ty.

2. dai

dai

what are you running
    video card brand and model
    cpu
    m/board
    ram
    power supply
    brand
    model
    wattage

check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and temperatures and post them

sounds like it is underpowered or faulty psu

3. JvLeger

JvLeger Thread Starter

MSI 7512 MOBO
    Coolmaster 550W PSU
    GeForce 8800 GT Videocard
    4 Gigs of DDR2 Ram

It sounded like it just turned off now and I unplug my monitor from it and plug it back in and it came back on. I thought it was an overheating issue but I dont think it is cuz I just turned my computer back on.

4. matthewdownloads

matthewdownloads

Restarting fixes 75% of all problems lol.

Let us know if the problem happens again.

5. JvLeger

JvLeger Thread Starter