GPU not displaying

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Elboddarb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
19
In addition to the above, IF you have something like voodoo shield install, disable it during the driver install. If you are just running windows defender, that is fine and no need to disable anything.
When you are all done with the chipset driver install AND you have rebooted, reinstall the nvidia driver. Choose custom install and check the box that says "clean install" This will remove any custom settings you had however IMO it is a better way to install the driver.
You're most welcome, hopefully it will work!

but without crjdriver help I think I would not see that PCI triangle from your screenshot thanks to corona not letting me to visit eye specialist :)
WELP... still nothing. i think i got too happy too soon. done everything, the PCI device problem is gone and so is the GPU error but it still wont display anything and im really at a loss. i really hope you guys are still here :(
 

Elboddarb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
19
just went through and thought* i fixed the problem but despite there being no more errors my GPU still will not display anything.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,194
Elboddarb,

I've merged your new thread with the existing one. Please do not start more than one thread for the same issue. Please a little patience as the helpers are all volunteers and this is not live tech support. :)
 

Elboddarb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
19
Elboddarb,

I've merged your new thread with the existing one. Please do not start more than one thread for the same issue. Please a little patience as the helpers are all volunteers and this is not live tech support. :)
sorry, i didnt hink anyone was going to see my latest reply on the old one.
 

Elboddarb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
19
Im really stuck with what to do now as i dont have anymore indications of what the issue could be :/
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,781
When you insert a real video card, the onchip video is disabled. Since you are still showing the intel video, it makes me think either the card is not fully seated OR your video card has a problem.
Do the following;
1 Go to the nvidia site and download the latest driver for your card
2 Uninstall any intel video driver. Do not reboot if prompted; just tell it later
3 Shutdown and pull the pw cord from the pw supply
4 Open the case and remove your video card. Note there is a latch that must be depressed to remove the card. Do not just yank it out; you will break something
5 Check the slot with a flashlight and be sure there is noting in the slot. Blow it out with a can of air
6 Install the video card in the pci-e slot and be sure it is fully seated. Make any pw connections as necessary
7 Connect the monitor to the video card and not the onboard port on the motherboard
8 Pw ON. If you do not get a display, something is wrong. Either the card is defective OR the motherboard is defective
9 If you were able to get a display, then install the driver you downloaded in step #1. Reboot when prompted
 

Elboddarb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
19
the last thing i done was get the latest nvidia drivers. what are the intel video drivers? and howw do i uninstall them.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,194
sorry, i didnt hink anyone was going to see my latest reply on the old one.
No problem. New replies automatically bump the thread back up to the top and it would be bolded to indicate it hasn't been read yet.
 

Elboddarb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
19
im back... still nothing. but i did notice something when i took my graphics card out. i may have put a bit too much thermal paste on my cpu because i noticed a tiny drop landed on the PCIe connector and graphics card. it really was only a tiny drop but the problem it where, it managed to get onto the gold connectors on the graphics card. i cleaned it off the best i could but i think there is a few tiny tiny bits that i cant get in between the connectors. could this be the cause of the problem do you think?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,781
Possibly. Get some contact cleaner [available at any auto parts store, electronics store or even walmart] Spray the slot and contacts on the card. This stuff dries very fast so by the time you are ready to reinstall the card, it will be dry.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,781
No. Use the correct tool or part for the job. WD40 leaves a residue and would probably cause a problem.
If you are going to work on electronics hardware, you need a can of contact cleaner.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top