Gpu not posting

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lekafisher

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
4
I have a gigabyte gtx 1050, and it was working fine until I moved my computer into a different room. I turned on my computer, but it my monitors were getting no connection and the keyboard and mouse wouldn’t light up.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,621
First of all, no one [other than you] has any idea what hardware you are running. Post ALL of your exact system specs.
Next my guess [and it is only a guess since we do not know what hardware you are using] is that you knocked something loose.
System OFF, pull the pw cord from the back of the system. Open the case and reseat the video card, pw connections to the card, atx and aux pw connectors on the motherboard. Now reconnect the pw cord and pw ON and see if the system will POST.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,621
I should have included that when you go to reseat the video card, there will be a lock or release for the card. Be sure and push that down prior to removing the card. Failure to do that and you can damage the motherboard and or slot.
 

lekafisher

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
4
I have a msi 760GMA-P34 (FX) MOBO, Kingston HyperX FURY 2 stick 8gb DDR3, WD Blue 1TB SATA 6, Thermaltake versa h15 case, EVGA 500W1 80+ PS, AMD FD6300WMHKBOX FX-6300 6- core CPU.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,621
Have you done what was outlined in post #2?
If so, what was the outcome?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,621
After the move, you are sure the monitor is plugged into the video card and not the onboard port correct?
 

lekafisher

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
4
I did what was said in post #2, but same outcome. I also have the monitor plugged into the graphics card, and not the motherboard.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,621
If you are sure you have everything seated correctly, then you broke something. Do some basic troubleshooting and attempt to find the failed part;
1 System OFF, pull the pw connectors from ALL drives; both hd and optical
2 Disconnect any usb device ie printer, scanner, hub, etc
3 Clear cmos with the clear jumper and return the jumper to the normal position
4 Pull out and add-in cards ie sound, nic/lan, raid, video card. Connect the monitor to the onboard port on the motherboard. Note you may not have any add-in cards other than the video card
5 Pw ON and see if the motherboard will POST. If it does, then shutdown and start connecting devices one at a time until you find the failed part. If it will not POST, then you will need to swap parts with known good units ie motherboard, ram, pw supply, etc.
 

lekafisher

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
4
I can get it to post without connecting my graphics card. Does this mean I need a new one?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top