1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

GPU not recoognized

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by callingltu, Nov 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. callingltu

    callingltu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Hey,

    So i was using my PC, and suddenly it froze. I restarted it and now i dont get any view from my GPU Gforce gts250. But my integrated GPU works fine.

    I then checked my GF gts250 on my other pc and it worked fine!


    So i thought maybe smth is with my PCI-e slot on my pc. I then put my old geforce 6200 and it worked! What the hell? :D
    I then put my other GPU GF 7600gs and it didnt work!

    So only gf 6200 works in my pc, what the hell?

    My motherboard is gigabyte ga-31m-s2l
     
  2. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    You have the power connectors hooked up to the card, right?

    What power supply are you using?
     
  3. callingltu

    callingltu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Yeah i have, otherwise it makes noise, also 7600gs doesnt need power connector.
    My psu is fortron 600w, dont remember the model, but it wasnt cheap
     
  4. callingltu

    callingltu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    anyone?
     
  5. callingltu

    callingltu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    help :)

    Is there any tools to check pci-e slot or smth?
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,117
    Fortron or FSP pw supplies are decent however anything can fail. I would first swap in a known good pw supply. If it still gives the same problem with a known good unit, then I would suspect the board has failed.
     
  7. callingltu

    callingltu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Maybe smth is wrong with pcie slot? Some pins have fried or smth? I just cant understand why 6200 works :D
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,117
    What is hard to understand? The onboard video works and the pci-e slot does not. Motherboards fail as do all other parts in a pc.
     
  9. callingltu

    callingltu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    u didnt read it at all.
    On board works, but also works geforce 6200 pcie.
    But my gts250 and 7600gs doesnt. But they work when i put em in other pc
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,117
    As I said, what is hard to understand? Both of the cards that do not work draw more power from the pci-e slot.
    If you install a known working card and it does not work in that mb, it tells you that there is a problem with the board. VR failure, capacitor failure, etc. The only other option is that you did not fully seat the card. There really is no other possibility.

    Next please use proper grammar and or punctuation marks. Your posts are difficult to read with out proper grammar.
     
  11. callingltu

    callingltu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Sorry for that.

    But maybe there are some software tools to check pcie slot ? :)
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,117
    Not really. You can buy a mb tester. It goes into a pci slot on the board and does basic tests however they are not all that reliable. Best test is to swap in a known good mb; you have pretty much done this already by testing the card in a working system.
    Here is an example of a board tester; again not all that reliable.
    http://www.amazon.com/Digit-Diagnostic-Card-Motherboard-Tester/dp/B0055M7XLM
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026989

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice