GPU Unrecognized

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

OldFool71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2021
Messages
7
Greetings. I have just bought a new computer that had a GT 740 card installed. I replaced that with a GTX 1050. However, the computer is not recognizing the GTX 1050 but says the GT 740 is still attached. Thing is, video is working as a GT 740 and monitor cable is connected to the GTX 1050.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, Build 19043, Installed 20210608191156.000000+060
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9400F CPU @ 2.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 13, CPU Count: 6
Total Physical RAM: 32 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 740, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 237 GB (168 GB Free); D: 930 GB (912 GB Free); E: 1863 GB (1082 GB Free); F: 1862 GB (1163 GB Free); G: 1863 GB (1556 GB Free); H: 1862 GB (1441 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. H310M S2H, ver x.x, s/n Default string
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n Default string
Antivirus: Emsisoft Anti-Malware Home, Enabled and Updated
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,512
How exactly did you install the the 1050? You cannot just shutdown, pull out the old card; install the new card and think you are good to go. Not going to happen.

How to properly install a new video card;
1 Old card still installed, go the the relevant support site ie Nvidia or AMD. Download the latest driver
2 Uninstall ALL software based on the old card ie any monitoring software, suite, driver, etc. Do not reboot when prompted; just tell it later
3 Shutdown and pull out the old card. Install the new card and make any pw connections as necessary. Be sure you connect the monitor to the video card and not to an onboard port on the motherboard
4 Pw ON and install the driver you downloaded in step #1. Both the amd driver and the nvidia driver give you an option for a clean install when you opt for a custom install. Be sure you select this option
5 Reboot when prompted
Done.

FWIW I [generally] install just the driver and NOT all of the bloatware that comes with the driver ie nvidia experience, updater, audio driver, etc. Up to you.
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,512
BTW in the above case, you may not want the latest driver from nvidia. Your card is now three generations out of date and the latest drivers are usually optimized for the latest cards ie the 3xxx series. If it were me, I would check the nvidia archive and get a driver from a year or so ago.
 

OldFool71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2021
Messages
7
Okay, followed all your advice, swapped back to original card, then did as you suggested. Same results as before. Could my GTX 1050 be dead?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,512
Are you getting a display when the monitor is connected to the 1050?
I assume this is a used card since it is somewhat old now. Is that correct?
 

OldFool71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2021
Messages
7
I am still getting a display when hooked to the 1050, but it is registered as a 740, therefore not being treated as a 1050. As to the 1050, I bought it new a few years ago. I now have a GTX 1660, but I will not use it in case it gets um...mangled like the 1050 is. Sorry, cannot afford a new GPU.
 

OldFool71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2021
Messages
7
Maybe this will help?
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, Build 19043, Installed 20210608191156.000000+060
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-9400F CPU @ 2.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 13, CPU Count: 6
Total Physical RAM: 32 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 740, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 237 GB (174 GB Free); D: 930 GB (912 GB Free); E: 1863 GB (1082 GB Free); F: 1862 GB (1163 GB Free); G: 1863 GB (1556 GB Free); H: 1862 GB (1441 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. H310M S2H, ver x.x, s/n Default string
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n Default string
Antivirus: Emsisoft Anti-Malware Home, Enabled and Updated

Or from speccy:
CPU
Intel Core i5 @ 2.90GHz 34 °C
Kaby Lake 14nm Technology
RAM
32.0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1330MHz (16-18-18-38)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H310M S2H (U3E1) 34 °C
Graphics
PL2730H (1920x1080@60Hz)
1023MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 740 (ASUStek Computer Inc) 35 °C
Storage
931GB Seagate ST1000DM003-1SB102 (SATA ) 31 °C
238GB KBG40ZNT256G TOSHIBA MEMORY (Unknown (SSD))
3726GB TOSHIBA External USB 3.0 USB Device (USB (SATA) ) 32 °C
3725GB Western Digital WD Elements 25A3 USB Device (USB (SSD))
Optical Drives
No optical disk drives detected
Audio
CORSAIR VOID PRO USB Gaming Headset.

If you wish a screenshot, please explain how to do so... jpg attached file perhaps?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,512
I assume this is with the 1030 installed AND you did a complete clean install of the driver.

Open device manager. See if it shows a 740 under display adapters. If so, click action>scan for hardware changes. Now click display adapter and see if it still shows a 740 or if it shows both.
 

OldFool71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2021
Messages
7
The 740 is shown only in Device Manager. I uninstalled the 740 from Device Manager before, without messing with System files. I do not have a Win Pro install, as it was already installed on the computer when I bought it.
My apologies if you are getting annoyed with me, and thank you for your patience.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,512
I uninstalled the 740 from Device Manager before, without messing with System files.
OK, that is not a clean install of the driver. You need to follow the instructions outlined in post #2 ie you must uninstall ALL software for the old card. This is done from control panel>programs. Once you have done that, you then install your new card and the driver. When you install the driver you must select advanced or custom install. There is an option to do a clean install and you must put a checkmark in that box.
 

OldFool71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2021
Messages
7
Good morning, I followed your advice, and I admit I hadn't done it right first off. Took until 3 am and it still insists I have a GT 740. An interesting point is that using MSI Afterburner, I can alter the GPU fan speed, checked using another utility; thing is that the 740 doesn't have a fan - the 1050 does.

Give me the weekend to work on other bits of my life and think on this problem please. Again, thank you foir your perseverance.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,512
It seems it is working SO possibly just a windows glitch. Other than a clean install of windows, I would just live with it.
 

OldFool71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 11, 2021
Messages
7
I think you are correct. A clean install is not possible, so I'll live with it. Thank you for your help.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top