1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Graphics card causes lines and blue screen.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LordSaber, May 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LordSaber

    LordSaber Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Ok so here's the problem. My friend recently bought a PowerColor HD7850 2GB GDDR5 graphics card and after installing the card and the drivers, and restarting windows; the loading screen gets all kinds of lines across the screen up until the point where you enter in your log in information and then a blue screen. The AMD install manager is responsible for downloading and installing the latest driver for his device, so he didn't download a bad driver since it comes directly from AMD. Whenever he reattempts to install everything, he has to reinstall windows due to being stuck in the blue screen loop when he attempts to log in to windows regularly. Obviously without the drivers, windows can't detect his card. But any attempt to install the drivers causes the "tears" in the screen.

    Here are the specs of his desktop
    CPU: Intel Core i5 3570k CPU @ 3.40GHZ
    Motherboard and slots: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H -- 1x PCI-E 3.0 x16, 4x USB 3.0
    8 gigs of Ram
    Plus the aforementioned gpu.

    Can anyone point us in the right direction as to what the problem may be?

    He pretty much can't use his desktop because his card isn't working.

    Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    What power supply does he have? Make and Model?

    Or the card could simply be faulty, have you tried contacting the place of purchase or the manufacturer for a warranty exchange?
     
  3. LordSaber

    LordSaber Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    I'm not sure about the power supply but the company is closed until Tuesday due to the weekend and an American holiday.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    If the power supply does not have adequate capacity for the video card you can experience such problems. The PSU should be a high quality model of at least 500 watts and you should have one 6 pin power connector plugged into the card directly from the power supply, without an adapter.

    The PSU info is on a sticker on the side of the power supply when you open the computer case.
     
  5. LordSaber

    LordSaber Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    The power supply is 700 watts. Is that too much?
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,901
    First Name:
    Rob
    You can't have too much, the system only draws what it needs. What is the brand and model of it?

    Chances are the graphics card is bad, testing it in another system should give you a firm answer.

    Does his computer work ok if you remove this graphics card and use the old one?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1054692

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice