1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

graphics card for northgate innovations stac2417c and hp pavillion 734n

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by yoyo539, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. yoyo539

    yoyo539 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Is there a way to find out if the graphic cards can be upgraded on either one of these systems (northgate stac2417 and hp pavillion 734? My daughters are trying to play Sims 3 and it says the graphic card needs to be upgraded on the northgate.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Can't find any info for Northgate, did a link to a website come with any of the paper work or the box?

    The specs for the HP are here: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...ory&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=296682&lang=en

    So you have an AGP slot for an older style graphics card and the stock power supply is on the weak side.

    You an likely get away with using the Geforce 6200 AGP: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125249

    Sims 3 requirements: http://www.thesims3.com/game/systemreq
     
  3. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    Keep in mind that using something like the 6200 video card is very low end. Sims3 will play, but you'll be playing in a low-quality mode... in other words, Sims3 will look and play a bit worse than The Sims which came out about 5 years ago.

    You can use PCWizard to look at you computer and tell us what kind of computer it is... such as its CPU, memory, video and what kind of slots it has. Paste it or type it in.

    So we need: CPU, motherboard model (name), memory, Video card or onboard video (what kind it is), and slots. PC Wizard is free and below on my SIG.

    Example from my computer:
    Manufacturer : Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
    Mainboard : Gigabyte P35-DS3L
    Bios : Award Software International, Inc.
    Chipset : Intel P31/P35
    Physical Memory : 2048 MB DDR2-SDRAM
    LPC bus : Yes
    PCI Bus : Yes
    Bus PCI-Express : Yes
    USB Bus : Yes

    (( From CPU ))
    Processor : Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    Frequency : 2400 MHz - (current : 1597.98 MHz)
    Number of Core : 4
    Support : Socket 775 LGA


    Recommend graphics go GOOD game play should be at least an ATI 4650/70 or better or GeForce 9600/9800... These are about $80~100 each. A new power supply is most likely needed, you can get away with $30 power supply... which is 4 screws and some wiring.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...3023&cm_re=thermaltake-_-17-153-023-_-Product
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  5. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    Then that Thermaltake may not fit as its longer than most PSUs on the market...
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914878

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice