graphics card help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
60
i think this is a quality card man, it would surely run battlefield games and all. but if im not mistaken it looks like its for other programs such as designing programs and "other than games" visuals. if you want a card for gaming id get something like the nvidia 7950 gt 512mb its great, and sli ready. and is gunna work great on anything other than gaming too. now i know theres other guys out there that know alot more about it than me, so i hope they reply also, because im not posotive what the ko is. kinda curious myself....
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,291
This is a great choice for those games. The KO just means that the card comes 'slightly' overclocked from the factory. It will be marginally better than plain old 7900. You should be able to play BF2 and 2142 at max settings with no problems. Enjoy!

BTW - I found it cheaper here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130056

After the rebate, you save $10 plus Newegg's shipping is usually cheaper. (y)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
1,938
It should work fine. I have the GT version of the same card (from the same manufacturer).

Courtney sends....
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
80
it will get well over 100fps in source with max aa and af at highest reso i get 125fps maxed out with the 7800gt
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
I think for the price, it's a pretty good deal. My 7600GT is not as fast but plays many games very well... I wouldn't spend much more on a video card - not when the 8800gs is coming out soon for $300. And when you get such a video card - you'll need a faster CPU to feed it, ya know.

Check to see if your mobo supports Core2Duo... but don't upgrade until you need to.
 

cowcow20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
42
yea rite now my mobo can only upgrade to a 3.6 ghz... so i mite get like a 3.6 ghz p4... then hopefully save up for a new comp
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
YEs, it should - even my 7600GT can get close...

But 100fps in what RES? Unless the p4 is cheap ($50 or so) - can you upgrade to a Core2Duo? P4s never had the performance levels of AMD or even Pentium3 (clock rate)...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top