graphics card installation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

super_chunks

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
17
what do i need to know about my computer to know what graphics cards are compatible with my computer? how do i find out the information that i need? and how do i physically install the card once i have it? If it help at all, my computer is a compaq presario SR503NX.
Thanks for any info.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
684
First off, I tried your Model number and got 0 results for tech support.
compaq presario SR503NX must not be the mdel number. Can you look for that on the PC again?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
129
You can use a program called PC wizard and it will give you some information about your system which would help.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
531
That's the type of graphics card that fits your computer. PCI Express x16. There are many to choose from. You have to figure out how much you want to spend, and what exactly do you require from the card.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,962
super_chunks said:
so if it says PCI express x16 than it's compatible with my comp.?

No, compaq is notorious for installing a PSU that will barely run the machine as shipped. Add a high-end graphics card and you will be in trouble for sure.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,962
Either look at the specs of your machine on the HP site, or open the machine and look at the sticker on the power supply. All of the high-end cards have a "minimum power rating" and they have it for a reason.

You will se on the side of the PSU.................

Max watts

Amps on each rail

etc.

Make sure the power supply has enough gas to push any card you decided to buy. I hate OEM computers because even though the price is great at times, the upgrade path just sucks.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
531
This is why I didn't want to suggest any specific cards. With Compaq/HP machines you can't even find what power supplies they have on the support pages. You definately have to read the sticker.
If you're clueless, super_chunks, you can take the computer to CompUsa, Circuit City or someplace like that and they'll help you pick out a card and install it for you (for a fee). At least that way they're responsible for anything that goes wrong.
 

super_chunks

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
17
not completely clueless, and my dad is a network administrator. im just trying to figure out how to do things on my own.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top