1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Graphics card power supply

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by zhed, Jul 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zhed

zhed Thread Starter

Hi, I have a windows 7 PC (eMachines ET1831), it has an integrated graphics card:
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 7050 / NVIDIA nForce 620i
    Chip type: GeForce 7050 / nForce 620i
    I am an amateur when it comes to computer hardware, but I am tired of playing games with very low graphics settings. I am hoping to be able to have smoother game-play with medium settings. So I'm looking for a budget upgrade (less than £65 ($100)), but my PC only has a 250W power supply.

Question: Will the Sapphire ATI Radeon HD5450 work with only a 250W power supply?

Is is possible to simply upgrade a power supply like I would a graphics card?

Any help will be appreciated.

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

Any HD card needs a lot of power. I'd get a bigger PSU. They generally come in one standard model that fits all, but if yours is some "mini" version of machine, it may have special requirements.

But are you sure you have a slot for that card?

3. jack-o-bytes

jack-o-bytes

Having looked on google I have found some photos of that model computer and it looks like it can fit a standard ATX psu which is always a good thing to know. As for the graphics card the case has the slots where a normal sized graphics card can fit but you will need to take the side off and look at the available slots to see if it can take a graphics card at all.

Jack-O-Bytes

4. jack-o-bytes

jack-o-bytes

5. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    Which one of these eMachines ET1831 series desktops do you have?

ET1831-01

ET1831-03

ET1831-05

ET1831-07