1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

graphics card upgrade?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cyeanne, May 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cyeanne

    Cyeanne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I haven't received my computer in the mail yet, but this is what it says about it
    Dimension E521,Athlon 64 3200+(2.00GHz, 512K)

    1 GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz

    Dell USB Keyboard

    Integrated Graphics

    80GB SATA II Hard Drive (7200RPM)

    Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic Edition, English

    Internet Search and Portal

    Dell Owners Manual installed on your system,click on icon after system set-up to access

    Power DVD 7.0

    Vista, PC-Restore, Dim/Insp

    Dell Support, Vista, Dim/Insp

    Dell Resource DVD with Application Backup

    Icon Consolidation Application

    Dell USB 2-button mouse

    Integrated NIC card

    No modem requested for Dell Dimension

    Adobe Acrobat Reader 7.0

    16X DVD-Rom Drive

    Integrated Audio

    No Speaker Requested

    Network Associates McAfee 8.0 English, 30-Day Trial

    No Digital Music Software requested

    Corel Snapfire Plus Starter Edition and Paint Shop Pro XI trial

    No Internet Service Provider Requested

    MS WORKS 8.5

    Dell Hardware Warranty PlusOnsite Service, Initial Year

    Type 3 Contract - Next Business Day Parts and Labor On-Site Response, Initial Year

    Warranty Support,Initial Year

    You have chosen a Windows Vista Basic System

    can I upgrade the graphics card to a geforce 6200? someone said it wouldn't be possible to because it has integrated grpahics but I want to be able to play games well on this.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Sidech1

    Sidech1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    It has a pci-express slot for upgrades, so you should look at upgrade cards for that format, not AGP
     
  4. Maxplayer14

    Maxplayer14

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Like Sidech said all you will need to do is search for PCIe graphics cards for your upgrade.

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=1559&Nav=|c:1558|&Sort=3&Recs=10

    As you can see you can get 6600's for 30-40 bucks.
     
  5. Cyeanne

    Cyeanne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    ah! Great! thank you very much ^_^ I thought that it had the ability to be upgraded but then someone said that usually you couldn't and I really know nothing about this kinda stuff. Thanks much to both of you!
     
  6. Maxplayer14

    Maxplayer14

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Anytime.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/577622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice