1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by CLMSS, Dec 13, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CLMSS

    CLMSS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    Hi...I just bought a GF2MX400 (ABIT).And my FPS is not really good (30 AVERAGE) in an UT MOD called Tactical Ops.I was wondering is it because my motherboard only supports 2X AGP mode ?

    BTW..MY com SPECS are 933 P3 256MB [email protected] GB MAXTOR AND 20GB SEAGaTE.
     
  2. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    It could be, but I don't know very much about it. If that program is graphic-intensive then it might be why. Otherwise I can't help ya. :(
     
  3. CLMSS

    CLMSS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    Benchmarks i found on the net with the same card and game showed much higher FPS.
     
  4. HumperZ

    HumperZ

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Hey,

    You only get 30fps max in that game because of your 2x agp :( I use to have 2xp agp mobo, with same card (ge force2 mx 400) and it sucked when i played those kinda games, then i got a new mobo with 4x agp and the card is really good now.
     
  5. CLMSS

    CLMSS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    THanks.BTW,what is your average FPS in UT now ?
     
  6. HumperZ

    HumperZ

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Well mine maxes out at 60, i dont know the command to make it sohw higher.
     
  7. CLMSS

    CLMSS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    GUYS ! I found out my motherboard supports 4X AGP.But my bios only gives me either 1X or 2X.HOW DO I SET IT TO 4X ???
     
  8. Rikku

    Rikku

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    743
    maybe you could try and find a BIOS update??

    What is the name of your motherboard?
     
  9. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    If it's a via chipset you need to install the 4 in 1 drivers and enable turbo mode, then enter bios and enable agp 4x.
     
  10. CLMSS

    CLMSS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    Mines a VIA.So i jsut download the 4 in one Driver.And install and the option to enable 4X AGP Mode should appear in my BIOS ??
     
  11. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    which motherboard?????

    Did you choose turbo mode on installing the drivers

    You may be presented with a Window that reads:

    Set up Program will install/uninstall AGP driver for you

    (three options)

    ð Install VIA AGP VXD in standard mode

    ð Install VIA AGP VXD in turbo mode

    ð Uninstall VIA AGP VXD

    Check turbo mode for optimal performance. If you experience problems and you find our AGP card cannot handle turbo mode, go back and reinstall it in standard mode.
     
  12. CLMSS

    CLMSS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    Umm...I am looking to get my BIOS to let me select 4X AGP mode coz i just realised that my mobo supports 4X.But it only has a max of 2X listed.So will installing the driver in turbo mode help ?
     
  13. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    which motherboard?????
     
  14. CLMSS

    CLMSS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    78

    hehehe...sorry i forgot to tell.Its not a VIA board acctually,it uses the chipset thats all,the board is some weird brand called SuperTek.
    i think its the ST-694XVA or th ST-694XVMA


    sorry if the info i gave is not enough....btw i am using WIN XP PRO and when i install the 4 in 1 driver it does not isntall hte AGP one.
     
  15. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61691

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice