Graphics Card

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jimko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
23
Hi All,
:confused:Can anyone shed any light on a little problem I have, what graphics cards are compatible with the ECS motherboard GS7610 Ultra it has a PCI Express x16 slot, I have just recently tried an Nvidia card 8500 GT 512MB but it seems physically too big even before it enters the slot the bottom of the card is touching the motherboard does it require a smaller card or am I missing something obvious any info would be gratefully appreciated thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
I believe this is a Microboard......does the PCI-E slot look normal size?
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
Looking at the motherboard on the ecs website, it appears to have a standard PCIe x16 slot although it is red. Where does the card touch the motherboard? Along both ends either side of the cpnnector or just a particular spot? Or is it the something touching the two capacitors that are right next to the PCIe slot?
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
It should fit fine in the Orange PCI-Express slot, you're not trying to use one of the other slots are you?
 

jimko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
23
Hi all,
Thanks very much for your replies the card I am trying to install when it is lined up with the slot seems ok but the left and end of the card appears to touch a little silver component on the motherboard which will not allow the card to be pushed down into the slot my board is a micro ATX board.:(
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Ahh, Ok so you have a clearance issue. This could be a oversight by the motherboard designers. Can a you take a picture of what is in the way when you try to install the card? Or circle it in this picture if you can't a picture: http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Products/ProductsDetailPhoto.aspx?DetailID=846&LanID=0 (download the picture, use paint to highlight the problem area, and then attach it as at attachment buy using the "Go Advanced" button.
 

jimko

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
23
Thanks Triple6
I have highlighted the part in red that I think is the problem I know it looks a distance from the slot but the card requires 2 of the metal slots in the case to be removed to accomodate the plugs on the card maybe as I said earlier it may need a smaller card I'll keep plugging on if you pardon the pun.:eek:
 

Attachments

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Oh its dual slot card?

I'd just return the card and get a single slot card and something better as well. The 8500GT isn't a great or new, it shouldn't really take up two slots.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top