1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Graphics that worked no longer works after installing new RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Revvy, Mar 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Revvy

    Revvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Hey, so yesterday I got a new graphics card and new RAM. I installed the graphics card first to see if it worked. Works fine, I installed the drivers, new card is ready to go. I then replaced my RAM sticks with my new ones, booted up my computer and then NADA - no display, both onboard graphics and graphics card.

    So I experimented with different combos, different channels, new/OLD RAM, the card isn't working. Eventually onboard graphics kick ins (No idea why.) Weirdly now my computers clock had been set back to 1/1/2002, I set it back to today.

    So I placed my old graphics card back in and that works. I decided to leave the new card to sit for a day before trying again. I tried again today, only onboard graphics works and the computer has been set back to 1/1/2002. Both fans on the new card are spinning up so I know power is getting to it.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 640 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 7934 Mb (Corsair Vengeance - High Profile 2x4GB)
    OLD Graphics Card: ATI Radeon 3000 Graphics, 256 Mb
    NEW Graphics Card: Sapphire R9 270X 4GB 1020MHz GDDR 5 PCI Express Graphics Card
    Hard Drives: B: Total - 953866 MB, Free - 115154 MB; C: Total - 60954 MB, Free - 588 MB; E: Total - 99 MB, Free - 69 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., M5A78L-M/USB3
    Antivirus: AVG AntiVirus Free Edition 2013, Updated and Enabled
    PSU: 750W
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Short on the card somewhere resetting BIOS
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,686
    First Name:
    Frank
    You have a LOT of personal data in that computer.
    Hopefully, you have it backed up to some reliable external media.
    If Windows 7 crashes or the hard drive dies, you stand to lose it all.

    You have a very outdated version of AVG.
    The current version is 2015.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Or a lot of temporary files hanging around??

    I suspect there are a lot of media files there!
     
  5. Revvy

    Revvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    I am getting when I am starting my computer alot something along lines of a "Temporary File Page Report"

    "Short on the card somewhere resetting BIOS"

    You're going to have to elaborate on that for me. =/
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,686
    First Name:
    Frank
    Go here, then click the large blue "Download Now @ Author's site" button to download and save TFC.exe (Temp File Cleaner by OldTimer) to your desktop.

    After it's downloaded and saved, close all open windows.

    Double-click it to load its main window.

    Click the "Start" button.

    If there are a large number of temp files and/or there are multiple user accounts, the temp file deletion process may appear to freeze or may take a few minutes, so be patient.

    After the temp file deletion process is finished, restart the computer.

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    Advise us how many temp files in MB's or GB's it displays in red.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    What is the exact make and model of the power supply you have?

    Did you connect both power connections to the graphics card?

    You say eventually the onboard graphics kicks in, does that mean you have the monitor connected to the onboard and not the new card? The monitor needs to be connected to the new card before you turn the computer on otherwise the computer will continue to use the integrated graphics. Additionally you should go into the BIOS setup with the new card removed and set the primary graphics to PCI-E, check the motherboard manual on the exact location of that setting.

    While in the BIOS also get the BIOS version and post it.
     
  8. Revvy

    Revvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    5464.00 mb cleaned.

    My PSU is an XFX PRO750W, and yes both plugs have been clicked into my graphics card.

    Ill go into BIOS now with my graphics card unplugged and set the graphics settings, I'll come back with the BIOS version as well.
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,686
    First Name:
    Frank
    That equates to 5.33 GB of temp files you got rid of. (y)

    I would put TFC.exe to use at least once a month.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    I was thinking perhaps there was an electrical short on the graphics card. Something like a hairline track in the varnish.
     
  11. Revvy

    Revvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Cant find video configuration in BIOS. Only thing I can find is PCI/PnP Settings which only allows me to change the plug and play O/S.
     
  12. Revvy

    Revvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    The BIOS version is 0211. Just plugged the new card back in, it is now considerably louder than it was before.
     
  13. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,686
    First Name:
    Frank
  15. Revvy

    Revvy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Its odd. Ive now tried the card multiple times now. Sometimes its normal and quiet, sometimes it sounds like its going faster (louder.)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145320

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice