1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Green Screen

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tom_v, Jan 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tom_v

tom_v Thread Starter

I bought a computer for the family for Christmas. Everything fine for two weeks and one day when I came home from work the screen was all green. No Desktop. When i rebooted same thing. From here I can access the task manager (ctrl-alt-delete) and run anything on my computer I just don't have a desktop. Any help would be appreciated as I am fairly new to computers.

2. SexyTech

SexyTech

Welcome to TSG!

What happens if you press the Window key on the keyboard? does the start menu come up?

Try booting into "Safe Mode" and log in as "Administrator" and see what happens there.

If all is good in safe mode, you may have a corrupt user profile or something else starting up that is killing the desktop.

Let us know what you find.

ST

3. tom_v

tom_v Thread Starter

Really appreciate the response. I tried pressing the windows button on the keyboard with no result. Also have tried safe mode....when it boots up i get to the same green screen but with the words "safe mode" in each corner. Really stuck and need help. Thanks again.

4. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

I'd start by checking the integrity of the connection to the monitor, it sounds like the plug is falling out!

5. SexyTech

SexyTech

Try bringing up task manager and running "explorer.exe"

If explorer brings everything up, you'll know that's where the problem lies

you might also want to try and access "System Restore"

it's "rstrui.exe"

6. tom_v

tom_v Thread Starter