GTA v not using my gpu

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xcruisermcl

Thread Starter
Joined
May 1, 2020
Messages
79
Hello
i just bought gtx 650ti and its now in my pc but i think my pc isnt detecting it
my pc just named it Standard VGA Graphics Adapter and has no info of my gpu
can someone help?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,769
Did you install the driver?
Post ALL of your exact system specs; ie exact motherboard, exact pw supply, etc.

How to properly install a new video card;
1 Old card still installed, go to the relevant support page ie AMD or Nvidia and download the latest driver
2 Old card still installed, uninstall ALL software based on the old card ie driver, any monitoring software, etc. Do not reboot when prompted; just tell it later
3 Shutdown and pull your old card. Install the new card and make any pw connections as necessary. Be sure and connect the monitor to the new card and not an onboard port on the motherboard
4 Pw ON and install the driver you downloaded in step #1 Now reboot when prompted

Done.
 

xcruisermcl

Thread Starter
Joined
May 1, 2020
Messages
79
Hm.. i think i can make it run on 650 like how i made gta v run in very high graphics with natural vision on ATI Radeon HD 4850 512mb
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,769
(y)(y)
You can mark your own thread as solved using the button at the upper left. No need for this one; I will mark it for you.
 

xcruisermcl

Thread Starter
Joined
May 1, 2020
Messages
79
i don't know why but my gta v is running at 5 fps and i am using gtx 650
THE C:\Users\Administrator\Documents\Rockstar Games\GTA V\settings.xml
says

</video>
<VideoCardDescription>Software Adapter</VideoCardDescription>
</Settings>

while my gpu is gtx 650
if someone can help so help me
 
Last edited:

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
119,180
I've merged your new thread into this one as the are for the same thing.

Also, please do not use chat/text speak here but spell things out so others will understand what you mean.
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top