1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Gta3

Discussion in 'Games' started by kwill, Feb 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kwill

    kwill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    When I try to launch GTA3, it says:
    GTA3 requires at least 12mb of available video memory'
    How can I get more memory?
    Can I download it from the internet, or can I free it up on my PC?
    Thanks
    K
     
  2. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
    Hi,

    Could you post your system specs here :

    Processor, Ram, Graphics Card.

    If you are not sure about getting this info go into My Computer > Control Panel > System.

    Alternatively go here :

    http://www.aida32.hu/aida32.php

    A very useful utility that will give you lots of info on your pc and links to the components manufacturers websites to get the latest drivers, etc.

    One tip though - when running GTA3 do you close all other programs ?? If you go Ctrl Alt Del you can shut down everything except Explorer and Systray. Everything running uses memory resources.
     
  3. safegezaaa

    safegezaaa

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1999
    Messages:
    112
    I am almost sure that you have built in video on your machine. On some older machines they usually install 8 or 16Mb on to the motherboard. (Can also be called 'shared memory') It's difficult to say without seeing the specs of your machine. If this is the case then there is no way to increase the amount of memory that you have because the memory chips are soldered onto the main board. A new motherboard and a video card would be the way to go.

    Once again, difficult to say without seeing the specs of your PC.
     
  4. kwill

    kwill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    ok
    thanks
    processor - Pentium(r) II Processor
    ram - 128.0mb RAM
    graphics card - dont know - get back to you on that
     
  5. kwill

    kwill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    I dont think i have a graphics card.
    I know that my display adapter is RAGE IIC ACP if that helps
     
  6. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
    Hi again Kwill,

    Just ran a http://www.google.com search for the Rage II card you described. The results returned were from people selling them and one indicated it was a 2mb card. If this is so - that is your answer it lacks the ooomph to run GTA3. Even 16mb cards will struggle if not find it impossible. If your card was say like mine - a GeForce2 32mb it will run pretty stable - but this is stll 3 year old technology so although I can and do run GTA3 I will not get fantastic frame rates.

    You will need a better Graphics setup and more Ram wouldn't hurt either. Unfortunately I think this is your only option.

    Of course by all means await other posts or seek opinions elsewhere if you want to.


    RSM123.
     
  7. kwill

    kwill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    ok thanks for your help
    do you know anywhere I could get a good one cheap??
    K
     
  8. safegezaaa

    safegezaaa

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1999
    Messages:
    112
    I always buy PC stuff at www.newegg.com they have some really good deals occasionally too.

    I would also search on www.pricewatch.com they have some awesome deals too but beware make sure you read the small print and are sure of what you are paying for.
     
  9. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
    Try any of these :

    http://www.ebuyer.co.uk

    http://www.microdirect.co.uk

    http://www.Etoq.com

    http://www.aria.co.uk

    As I am in London all the are UK links. Don't know where you are in UK but forget trying to get it cheaper from USA. Firstly a lot of companies won't ship to EU. Secondly you will get extras added in Import Taxes by the Customs people here as Comp. peripherals are considered luxury items not essentials and any savings would be wiped out by this.

    You could also try http://www.Ebay.com but again if its not a UK seller the above applies.

    I have not included prices as the urls above all come from this weeks edition of Micromart and the prices change regularly.

    If you want to read some benchmarks on graphics cards then try this site for starters :

    http://www.tomshardware.com - Use the search box.

    From the above site there are also many useful links once you have the are of computing you're most interested in.

    Also try here :

    http://www.techspot.com/vb/index.php

    Useful forums like this one but on Computers, Mobos, Processors, etc.



    Be sure of what you are getting - Don't buy secondhand stuff

    Be sure of the price - If poss get them to confirm in an email. If they won't then ask why not.

    Don't jiust buy the cheapest card - You will end up in the same boat within 6 - 12 months. Spend 50 - 60 quid and get something that will last you .... its no different to spending 30 now and 30 more in 2004. You can get a 64mb card now for a reasonable price - so match up cost / benchmarks then decide. If its too much then wait and save don't just rush out so you can play GTA3.



    Good Luck,


    RSM123.
     
  10. kwill

    kwill Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    ok thanks all,
    by the way im in londn aswell
    um, Ive got an old PC that doesnt switch on and ive tried all that I know of, but I cant get it to work. Ive already taken the 3dfx voodoo card out of it and put it in this one, but is there anything I can take out of it that will help my video memory problem?
    Also, if you know any suggestions of how to get the PC running, that would help!!
    Thanks
    K
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119507

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice