gtx 1080 with low fps

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

j3suss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
7
specs:
motherboard:b150m-c
cpu: i5 6600
ram: 8gb ddr4 one stick
gpu: gtx 1080 mini

so the problem is that I just can't get high fps for example on fortnite I'm getting between 70-120 fps and in rainbow six siege I'm getting 23-58 fps on highest settings I'm frustrated and I really need help

ty for helping:)
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,359
First Name
Frank
Clipboard.jpg

I'm not a hardware/gaming expert, but it's my guess the full potential of the NVIDIA graphic card is being handicapped by the Intel processor.

There is also only 8 GB(8 GB X 1) of RAM in your computer.
You should consider increasing it to 16 GB(8 GB X 2).

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 

j3suss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
7
View attachment 268066

I'm not a hardware/gaming expert, but it's my guess the full potential of the NVIDIA graphic card is being handicapped by the Intel processor.

There is also only 8 GB(8 GB X 1) of RAM in your computer.
You should consider increasing it to 16 GB(8 GB X 2).

-----------------------------------------------------------------
you are probably correct but my friend who has the same GPU has i5 6600k and every thing works fine so I should at least get a bit more fps
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
I agree, your processor is not the greatest for gaming. In addition, you have a low end motherboard. Asus makes some fine high end boards however that one is one of their "budget" micro boards. Budget is used as a euphemism for cheap. There is a LOT more to a gaming system than simply installing a video card. A gaming system should have a high end motherboard with heavy duty pw regulation, heavy duty capacitors, steel pci slots for large video cards, extra chipset cooling. All of these items are non-existent on a low end board.

As Frank pointed out, you have a single 8gig ram chip. A better way to go would be to have two matched 8gig chips for a total of 16gig.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
I assume you have tested your temps and voltages under a stress test. If not, you should do so. I use either prime95 or OCCT [both free downloads] to stress test a system. Asus should have monitoring software available on the support page for that board. Use that to monitor temps/voltages; let the stress test run for at least 2min to get a stabilized reading. Post the following here; cpu temp, 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values.
 

j3suss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
7
I assume you have tested your temps and voltages under a stress test. If not, you should do so. I use either prime95 or OCCT [both free downloads] to stress test a system. Asus should have monitoring software available on the support page for that board. Use that to monitor temps/voltages; let the stress test run for at least 2min to get a stabilized reading. Post the following here; CPU temp, 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values.
CPU temp: 33-55
12v: spiked between 11.99-12.12
5v: stable 5.08
3.3: 3.31-3.33 and for a minute it stayed at 3.31 and then spiked again to 3.33
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
OK, cpu temp should be stable while running prime95 for at least 2min. Voltages should also be stable while running prime95. Were those reading taken while running the stress test?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
One other item. What monitoring program are you using? I checked on the support page for your motherboard and it seems asus does not post monitoring software for that board.
 

j3suss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
7
One other item. What monitoring program are you using? I checked on the support page for your motherboard and it seems asus does not post monitoring software for that board.
after the software finished the stress test it opened a file with these readings
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
Your temps are fine. If you have a low end pw supply, you can try replacing it with a quality unit ie seasonic or high end corsair. Note corsair makes both quality units and junk units. The only corsair pw supplies up to running something like a 1080 are the AX, HX or RM models.

Other than that, your cpu, motherboard and only 8gig of ram are holding you back from getting good performance from your video card.
 

j3suss

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
7
Your temps are fine. If you have a low end pw supply, you can try replacing it with a quality unit ie seasonic or high end corsair. Note corsair makes both quality units and junk units. The only corsair pw supplies up to running something like a 1080 are the AX, HX or RM models.

Other than that, your cpu, motherboard and only 8gig of ram are holding you back from getting good performance from your video card.
ok can you tell me what do i need to upgrade in order of the first and last thing
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
First what exact pw supply do you have installed? Do not post "500W" Post the exact brand and model# If you do not know, there is a label on the pw supply. Open the case and look.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top