1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

GUI is not working

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by jhelpme1212, Apr 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jhelpme1212

    jhelpme1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    I got the gui to work the first time i installed linux and then i set vsftpd to start up on boot and snice then the gui will not start. I even disabled it from the setup command but still will not start. Everytime i run startx it gives me this.
    (WW) VESA(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xf3c00000,0x3f0000)
    (WW) VESA(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xf3800000,0x7f0000)
    (WW) VESA(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xf3000000,0xff0000)
    (WW) VESA(0): Failed to set up write-combining range(0xf2000000,0x1ff0000)
    (WW) VESA(0): Failed to set up write-combining range(0xf0000000,0x3ff0000)
    Could not init font path element unix/:7100 removing from list!
    fatal server error:
    could not open default font

    That is what it is saying when i run startx. I am somewhat new to linux can some pleaze help me
     
  2. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    The last part about not being able to talk to the 7100 port removing from the list is a font server issue in general, so try this

    % /etc/init.d/xfs start

    that should start the font server that its looking for taking care of atleast that error.

    Thats a start, lets see what happens after you do that :).
     
  3. jhelpme1212

    jhelpme1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    ok it says starting xfs when i type that. I then tryed running startx and it still give me the same message. Also my screen flickers now.
     
  4. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
  5. jhelpme1212

    jhelpme1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    thanks quick question i am still new to linux how do you copy in cui lol
     
  6. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    cp (directory)(such as /usr/bin for example).Xclients-localhost (directory).Xclients-default

    a cleaned up version:

    cp .Xclients-localhost .Xclients-default
     
  7. jhelpme1212

    jhelpme1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks :) but i am still getting the same error
     
  8. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    well worse comes to worse just reinstall xfree86, what distribution are you running btw?

    I'll look for something else that might work to fix it before we have to go to the reinstall xfee again

    I just thought of something possible, that perhaps something in your xfree config file got overwritten. go to your /etc/X11 directory and look thru the XF86Config file to see if anything changed from the settings you had. That occassionally happens.

    Could be as simple as the video driver with from SVGA to VESA or such.
     
  9. jhelpme1212

    jhelpme1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    how would i reinstall xfree i do not know how to download it in CUI. I assume it was installed when i installed linux. This is the second time it done it today the first time it did it i reinstalled red hat. I would hate to do it aagain
     
  10. liviu

    liviu

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    1) jhelpme1212, first I think you must do some reading about Linux.
    I've put some links on my page: http://heart.med.upatras.gr/~liviu
    just press on the LINKS on the left.

    2) After that we can speak again, and you will tell us, for instance, what VGA card you have on VESA.
     
  11. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    Silly me for diagnosing the latter problem before the former, I put the cart in front of the horse -.-. At least the wheels will stay clean ;)
     
  12. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Yesh. That or a more user friendly distro might be a place to start. People like Mandrake for that.
     
  13. jhelpme1212

    jhelpme1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for your help. My video card is a Sis Real256 Grapics it the one that build in the my asus borad. I been using the video drivers that linux found during installation. Like i said before it boots up the first time fine and then everytime I run anytype of server to start up on boot up the same problem happens.
     
  14. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
  15. jhelpme1212

    jhelpme1212 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    no xserver ran fine the first time installed red hat until i set up ftp and samba server that when i started having the problems
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/222793

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice