guidance

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

guidance

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
41
I was checking to see if startup programs were working, so I placed my "calculator" to start at logon; how do I disable calculator? Where in regedit?
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
How did you get calculator to start at startup? Did you drop a shortcut to it into the Startup folder? If so, delete the shortcut from the startup folder.

If you edited the registry and added a key in the Run folder, it would be in

Hkey_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\Winodws\CurrentVersion\Run

or

Hkey_Current _User\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
 

guidance

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
41
I can't remember; I know I was testing startup in regedit last week; I tried what you suggested, but I can't seem to locate it;

I did locate SM _ Accessories Na... Reg_Sz Accessories and I wonder whether this is what I ought to delete; of course, I'd have to find it again.

Thank you,

Guidance
Bryan said:
How did you get calculator to start at startup? Did you drop a shortcut to it into the Startup folder? If so, delete the shortcut from the startup folder.

If you edited the registry and added a key in the Run folder, it would be in

Hkey_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\Winodws\CurrentVersion\Run

or

Hkey_Current _User\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Start, run, type msconfig and hit ok, go to the startup tab. Is the calculator showing there?

If not, check the startup folder.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ok, it doesn't have msconfig. No experience with that OS. Not sure how to see what is loading at startup.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
1
Bizarre issue, but I just saw this on a friend's PC where her Active Desktop was corrupted and the calculator would open at startup, yet calc.exe was no where in the registry for startup items and not in the Startup folder in the start menu.

Turned out, after systematically killing running processes, it was the hkcmd.exe process that was running the calc. This is usually a HotKey type item, so I didn't give it a second glance.

Hope this helps someone in the future!

-SB
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top