1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Halo 2 XP - uninstall

Discussion in 'Games' started by decoy., Jun 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. decoy.

    decoy. Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    I used a patch to let me install halo 2 on windows xp. For some reason it wouldnt update, so i decided just to uninstall it. But now i cant uninstall it. Any advice/help?
     
  2. gamerbyron

    gamerbyron

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,091
    Halo 2 only runs on vista.
     
  3. hung.n.bled

    hung.n.bled

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    gamerbryon.
    software companies have been working to get DX10 cards to work on XP.
    so games specially designed for vista, i.e. Halo2. WILL work on XP. for it being a DX10 game.
    and im sure there r many other little cracks people have been working on.
    halo 2 is a good game and most gamers use/prefer xp to vista.




    sorry. idk what the prob is tho. with why it doesnt uninstall.
    just wanted 2 sayin halo 2 will work.
     
  4. gamerbyron

    gamerbyron

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,091
    lol, didn't know that.
     
  5. tony oh

    tony oh

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    913
    Did you put it back to it's original configuration before you tried to uninstall it (the vista only ...... don't make me laugh ...config).

    So apparrently it runs better on XP than Vista?
     
  6. hung.n.bled

    hung.n.bled

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    everything runs better on xp then vista?
    frame rate is always higher on xp?
    idk if thats just if your using the vista theme?
    or if just the OS chews more ram and card power?
    but iv seen reviews of vista vs xp.
    xp won in all framerate tests?
    so yeh.
    MS are ridiculous for making a popular game such as halo for vista only.
    people will say its for DX10 reasons?
    bah.
    many games support both rendering versions and OS's.
     
  7. pcgeek86

    pcgeek86

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Hey, I just found your question, and I actually discovered an answer for it since I'm in the same boat.

    My guess is that you got Halo installed on XP using the WowLoader, correct? If so, here's what you need to do at the command line to remove Halo 2:

    loader.exe <PathToStartup.exe> /tnp:/remove

    Hope this helps ...

    /pcgeek

    http://develnet.blogspot.com

    Edit: I spoke too soon X_X My sincere apologies for that ... it appears that startup.exe calls tnpcacheengine.exe, and therefore does not run with the loader. Since I don't have any method of seeing what parameters are being passed to tnpcacheengine, I can't figure out how to call that executable properly from loader. This means that I'll probably have to fall back to the last option ... msizap, which is run by the Windows Installer Clean-up Utility. I hate having to use it, but it does the job pretty well.

    Here is a Microsoft KB article on the Windows Installer Clean-up Utility, and a link to download it is in there as well.
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,635
    First Name:
    James
    Marketing. MS was smart to do it, but obviously didn't work out the way it was meant to go. They were trying to get Vista sold, and with a huge fan base as Halo, it was a smart move.

    Did it work? Maybe on a few.
    Ridiculous? Of course.
     
  9. DoubleThink

    DoubleThink

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Actually DX10 is dependent on Vista WDDM driver model and only Vista has it. So if you want DX10 games to run as intended, buy Vista otherwise :rolleyes:
     
  10. BlooChoo

    BlooChoo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    yeh i can see what MS marketting wer doing....but they did it with a console port..and a bad one at that! Halo 2 is a solid game that and it doesnt appeal to anyone who's played any recent high-profile PC shooters...its not a scratch on the original...
     
  11. Natamanchuk

    Natamanchuk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    What i think they should have done was bubdle Halo 2 with Vista Home Premium, is they really wanted the game to help sell copies of the OS then a free Halo 2 with the OS would have helped that better then just realeasing it soly for Vista.

    Now it just makes them look greedy since it is not a DX 10 game (just a 3 year old port fom the ORIGINAL XBOX), and that there was no technical reason to bind Halo 2 to Vista. Feels like a slap to the face from mirosfot to the pc gameing community.

    Nick
     
  12. BlooChoo

    BlooChoo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    yeh i totally agree!!! i think they should have released a general XP release on the market and then bundled a shiney newer version with VISTA with lots of nice extras...we like free stuff...and its not as if microsoft cant afford to help its loyal masses out some!

    (if bill gates is reading...i want free stuff!!!)
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,635
    First Name:
    James
    What's new about that...? :D Just look at:

    Windows ME
    Windows XP the early years
    Vista being delayed
    Windows 98...
    And yet you still need to get an external drive to watch HD-DVDs... (at least from what I can see)
     
  14. BlooChoo

    BlooChoo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    nothing new about the slap...but by now windows users have sore cheeks!
     
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,635
    First Name:
    James
    on both ends ;) :D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Halo uninstall
  1. larryh10000
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    462
  2. Inhnffp
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    300
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/590103

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice