Halo Runs Crappy, i exceed all requirements

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MahaGamer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
425
I exceed all the requirements for Halo PC by far and it runs like crap. Any help would be nice


Amd Athalon 64 3200+
Nvidia GeForece 5500 256mb
DirectX 9.0 C
1 gig of ram
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,968
I'd say the culprit is your video card. While it meets the requirements it isn't a very good card. Try setting the visuals down to a medium or low setting. That should improve things.

Other things to try are a defragmentation of the hard drive, run a disk check, a disk clean up, and kill any back ground programs that are running.

Edit: In the disk maintenance, do the defrag last. Sorry about that. :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
369
i agree, the video card isnt good. just because it has 256 mb of memory, it doesnt make it good. There are other factors that come in to play, such pipelines, core speed, memory speed, etc...


Try turning the setting downs. that will help. You have a nice system, just need to upgrade tha video card.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2005
Messages
245
ya alot of memory aint always good if it has little pipes to send it thru. Or the memory runs really slow so takes longer to send the stuff compared to a card with less memory with mor speed.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2005
Messages
146
The FX series of graphics cards are not that good for running games that use DirectX 9. Nvidia made a huge mess of the FX series of cards and perform really badly under DirectX 9. Try running running Halo at medium quality or lowering the resolution as suggested by Mayor Quimby.
 

MahaGamer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
425
My parents made me get rid of it because of the M rating so i won't be trying anything, but i don't get how my friend playes it smoothly with a GeForce2 with i think 64mb of memory.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
1,901
Although I agree with the above-mentioned suggestions, nobody has mentioned updating video card drivers here, so I'll throw it out there. Worth a shot.
 
Joined
May 27, 2003
Messages
569
The video card is not great, but it will but fine for Halo. With sttings turned down all the way I can play Halo on one of my computers the has the worst video card, NONE! LOL Integrated INtel 64mB crap. I will bet it is a virtual memory issue. Or if it is over multiplayer, it probably is not local to your computer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top