1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hard disk is not now being detected by the BIOS

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bod1, Jul 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bod1

    Bod1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    I have installed a new Hard Disk in My PC last week as the old one failed. The Hard Disk is a Wester Digital 7200RPM 40GB. The disk installed ok, Windows 98 installed ok and backed up data restored ok and the computer has worked happerley since this time last week. Today the computer was started up ok, and worked for a few hour then the screen went black and I had to restart the Computer.

    Now when it starts up it will not detect the Hard Disk. And the screen goes to a DOS promt asking for a bootable disk in drive A:

    I have checked the settings in the BIOS and I have tried changing the Primary master from Auto to User but the system will not detect it, and chages to Not installed. I have also restored the default settings to the BIOS but this has not worked. I'm sure the jumpers are correct as the computer has been working ok all last week and yesterday.

    Has any one got any ideas?
     
  2. WarC

    WarC

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    5,531
    I'd try moving the jumper. If it was set to Master before, maybe Cable Select/Single. Or vice-versa. Just for laughs, if nothing else.

    It sounds to me like your hard-drive just plain died...Which Western Digitals do alot...I've said it before and I'll say it again!

    Stay away from Western Digitals!
     
  3. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    Push the IDE cable in on both ends drive and motherboard sometimes, if they're a little loose the drive is undetectable and check the power lead too. I doubt it's the jumper setting leave that at default unless you have more then one drive on that IDE channel western digital factory default setting is Master single drive, if you have two drives on that IDE channel then remove the horizontal jumper cap on pins 5 and 7, this will make it Master
     
  4. Bod1

    Bod1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the above I will check the connections and the power lead. Would it be worth trying a different power lead. Also should I try the Hard Disk in another PC and see if it Boots-up? Or will this cause more problems?
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    you could have a crook eide cable
     
  6. Bod1

    Bod1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    I have checked the IDE cable connections and I have tried a different power cable to the hard disk and the PC has fired up. Also I left the PC disconnected from the mains for 9 Hour. SO far it seems to be Working fine. Obviously one of the above has fixed the problem (I hope), but I am not sure which one. Many thanks to those of you who replied.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/143587

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice