1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

hard disk Problems.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JoeMedina, Feb 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JoeMedina

    JoeMedina Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, i have a customers computer Gateway SX2110 it used to have windows 8 and my customer wanted to get windows 7, so i proceeded as usuall but started to have problems with the boot.So I took the hdd, put it in another PC and installed windows 7 on that. I deleted all three partitions that the hdd had on it, OEM, System Resever, and Power Reset Button (something like that, it was the Recovery partition) because it would not let me install windows 7 on any of the partitions since they were all linked together.

    So installed Windows 7 on it, and popped it back on the other PC.

    Lo and behold, It would not boot. I keep getting the error message " Error: No Boot Disk Has Been Detected Or The Disk Has Failed".

    I checked the cables, they were working fine. I switched sata ports, no avail. I plugged the HDD back on to the other pc and it was working fine again.

    I decided it was probably Windows 7 incompatible, so I took a win 8 image and installed it back on to the HDD using the working pc then popped the hd back into the Gateway. But it still gave me the error message.

    I also tried completely formatting the drive and installing it blank see if it would at least say something else, but same error message.

    At this point Im thinking that installing win 7 might have deleted something that the BIOS needed in order to boot properly. Everything is in perfect working condition hardware wise (except maybe the WAN mini port which started all of this.)

    Any help and suggestions would be much appreciated.


    * Note that i havent been able to boot either USB, CD, DVD, External DVD unit, USB or Ethernet. on the gateway pc.


    **If this post isnt on the rigth place i apologice and could please be moved to the correct place beacuse i couldnt find a "Hardware PC problem" section.
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    howdy and welcome. Sounds like the HD is dead.
     
  3. JoeMedina

    JoeMedina Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    but i just installed w7 on it , with another pc. it seems to work just fine.

    i even made some copy-paste data. it worked 100%.
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    how can you copy paste without it booting up? Obviously I'm missing something here.
     
  5. JoeMedina

    JoeMedina Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    i placed the HDD of the gateway on my PC case, and installed windows 7 on it ,and i transfered music from a USB to it, and backwards.

    didnt had any problem.
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    what is the boot order in bios?
     
  7. JoeMedina

    JoeMedina Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    when i try to format the Gateway : cd & dvdv -> Hard Disk -> Lan -> Removable Device.

    and when i did the format on the other pc and placed back the HDD : Hard Disk -> cd & dvd -> Lan -> Removable device.
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    the only one we are worried about is the gateway, so it's moot.

    The hd is internal, correct? So set the bios to boot from HD first.
     
  9. JoeMedina

    JoeMedina Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    i did that and it didnt worked.
    _________________________

    But i just changed something at the bios and worked.

    i went to the advance booting options and theres an option of CSM boot wich was disabled. but wasnt able to change it beacuse of the secure boot, so i had to disable the secure boot so it could let me activate the CSM boot, and Voilaa, it worked.

    As im typing this im installing w7 on the gateway.

    Thx a lot Valis for your support and assistance.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143644

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice