Hard Drive Fails on Format

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BManhard

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
5
I have a 120gig Western Digital Hard drive that I removed from my previous computer to use in my new computer as a second hard drive. The hard drive I have installed currently is a Maxtor SATA 250gig. The western digital is an IDE hard drive that is plugged in on the master part of its own seperate IDE cord. Everything boots up just fine, the problem begins when I double click on the new drive under my computer it informs me it needs to be formated, which I can attempt to do. I begin the formatting and after about 2 minutes it tells me that windows is unable to complete the operation, and then the hard drive fades from my computer and won't show up unless I reboot the system.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
BManhard said:
I have a 120gig Western Digital Hard drive that I removed from my previous computer to use in my new computer as a second hard drive. The hard drive I have installed currently is a Maxtor SATA 250gig. The western digital is a serial ATA hard drive that is plugged in on the master part of its own seperate ATA cord. Everything boots up just fine, the problem begins when I double click on the new drive under my computer it informs me it needs to be formated, which I can attempt to do. I begin the formatting and after about 2 minutes it tells me that windows is unable to complete the operation, and then the hard drive fades from my computer and won't show up unless I reboot the system.

Any help would be appreciated.
Sorry but I'm a little confused by your description...Your old Western Digital is a SATA or PATA/IDE? You say it's serial ATA but there are no master/slave in SATA setups... In any case try checking the connections of the cable on the drive and on the motherboard. Also try changing the cable as the one you use may be worn out/faulty.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Use Disk Management to remove all partitions, and create new ones before formatting.
 

BManhard

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
5
Just did as you asked, and it ended up coming up with an error after about three minutes, and did not complete.

I notice now that if I listen close I can hear a noise coming from the case. It sounds a click followed by a powering down and then powering back up again. I am unsure if I have the jumpers set up properly if that would have anything to do with it.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
How old is your machine? And what is the wattage of your power supply unit? As the IDE drive is set as a master and it is on the master position of the cable it seems allright. The sata connections do not require jumpers.

You could try connecting only your 120gb hdd and trying to format from the XP cd...And see what happens.


OK your machine is great, just seen your profile. What about the PSU?
 

BManhard

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2007
Messages
5
The power supply is an enermax ATX 12v it really should be above and beyond what is required for it.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
BManhard said:
The power supply is an enermax ATX 12v it really should be above and beyond what is required for it.
I believe what you say however even a great PSU but with low wattage output may fail if a lot of devices are connected to it...

If your IDE hard drive alone can be formatted using the XP cd this would indicate PSU insufficiensy or connection/controller conflict.

If you can't format it neither that way the disk may be damaged, the cables can be damaged or something is not connected/set up right.

As long as your old drive was working with no problems with your old PC I can't think anything else than the above. That clicking sound you mentioned made me ask about your PSU again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top