1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

hard drive failure is iminent

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cong, Feb 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cong

cong Thread Starter

I have little or no experience with XP.

My brother is a real noob around computers... He has an HP Pavilion that was pre loaded with XP, bought from Comp USA. He is getting a "hard drive failure is iminent" error message.

He never received any XP media for his system. (or he has no idea where it is) It is probably 2 or 3 years old. I do not thnk that he has an OS licence code, but he is still looking.

Without media, how can he reload his OS when the drive fails? Do these store bought pre loads have a work around?

If the drive hasn't completely failed yet, can we install a new drive as a slave and clone the primary drive?

2. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

A few options:

If you are not that familiar with computers, I would bring it back to Comp USA to see if they can not only replace the hard drive, but copy the contents of the current one to the new one.

Or if you have the software and knowledge, you can also try this on your own. There are several good imaging products available.

3. cong

cong Thread Starter

Could you point me in the direction of these imaging products?

4. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

Some can come with the new drive.

Acronis True Image is another one I use a lot. Very good, fast and simple. And not that expensive.

5. tec_41

tec_41

Actually all you need is the Acronis 15 day trial...Copy your hardrive and that's all you need. So it's free :)

6. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli