1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hard drive failure problem - how 2 format etc?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Gargantua, Jun 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gargantua

    Gargantua Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    I bought a Buffalo station 1TB external drive a few months ago and it failed after the first usage. After transferring about 10gb worth of data, the next time I tried to boot up the drive just wouldn't be recognised by the system anymore and I felt like the data was lost. I posted a thread months ago and was told to try removing the drive and install directly into my pc.

    Last night I attempted to do this but the boot up screens say "sec slave drive failure". It is a SATA western digital drive, the other SATA device in my system is a DVD burner, and my primary drive is an IDE, along with another IDE secondary drive.

    This is the message I get on start up:
    ...
    3rd Master: WDC WD1200BB-00DWA0 15.05R15
    Ultra DMA Mode-5, S.M.A.R.T. Capable but disabled

    3rd Slave: IC35l060AVV207-0 V22OA63A
    Ultra DMA Mode-5, S.M.A.R.T. Capable but disabled

    Secondary Slave Hard Disk Error
    Press F1 to resume

    Is there anyway I can repair this drive so that I can get some usage out of it? I don't mind too much if I have to sacrifice the data that i saved (I assumed it's lost since the drive first failed) but it would nice if there was some way to retrieve it too. Any ideas appreciated.




     
  2. Gargantua

    Gargantua Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    System Specs:

    Windows XP Service Pack 1
    P4 2.8Ghz
    4GB Ram
    775XFire-RAID BIOS p1.00
    2 x IDE Drive
    1 x SATA Drive 1TB (Failed Drive)
    1 x SATA DVD burner
    Soundblaster Audigy soundcard
    Audiophile soundcard
    Geforce 7600 graphics card
     
  3. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    A SATA drive shouldn't show as a "slave" as they don't have jumpers for this.
    Can you see this drive in disk manager?
     
  4. Gargantua

    Gargantua Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Hughv, I checked Disk Management and the SATA drive doesn't appear there.
     
  5. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    If it's connected correctly and the cable is good, it's probably dead.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/834390

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice