1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hard Drive Has Lots Of Delays

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DaminOG, May 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    using hddregenerator im doing a scan now and it has 10+ delays. I started scanning earlier and i didn't know it started in the middle and i let it scan for a bit and had 100 delays. So i know the longer it scans there will be 100+ delays.

    What made me do all this was i was hearing some annoying noises *not really clicks* so i did the dischk on windows and all was well ( no noise during this scan or the one im doing now)

    And the hd didnt have any activity prior to all of this either

    Just curious is to know how bad this is?
     
  2. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    552 delays @ 82%
     
  3. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,166
    Go to the Drive manufacturers website and download their diagnostic program. This would be more definitive than a Windows Disc Check.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If you have that many problems, the drive is toast. HDDRegenerator is just a scam that unmarks bad clusters for use again, only to have them fail to hold data and result in lost files.

    Every time you test the drive, it will have more problems.

    Buy a new drive.
     
  5. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    1101 delays total ill check out the site for their utility
    thing is this is my newest drive and its only for storage with not much use lol
     
  6. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Their Drive Fitness Test i downloaded and burned the image and no auto load so i click on it and it cant install cause its or 32x not my 64 and there is none avail for 64
    NONE of the apps ive found from their crappy site or related work with 64x
    hell the s/n and other numbers on the sticker of it doesn't bring up ANYTHING

    its a hitachi 2tb MLC: MNL180 S/N:F306YB9D P/D 0F12117
    hitachi H3d20003254S brought up a little but no support
     
  7. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    ...so..... just give up? ive already moved all content to another drive just in case
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,166
    You create bootable media for the diagnostics and run it from your optical drive at boot up.
     
  9. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    from what? the manufacturers site gave me a few things none of which can be used on a 64x os
     
  10. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,166
    download this http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/support/downloads/dft32_v416_b00.iso insert a cdr into your optical drive, then burn the ISO file to the cdr. Do not install it on your computer, do not just copy the file to the CDR. After the cdr is burned, make sure your boot sequence has the Optical Drive as first boot device the boot sequence. boot the computer with the disc in your optical drive. It will run independant of the OS installed on the computer. It doesn't matter what Version of windows (32bit or 64bit) you have it will run on its own.
     
  11. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    done
    This was the result of the quick test, advance test and the 3rd scan that i had it set to 6 passes (30mins each)
    [​IMG]
    HD Info

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  12. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    anyone?....
     
  13. getsugatenso

    getsugatenso

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    does this cause any problems when running the computer? delays are inevitable and depend on the transient period in most electronic applications. the 2tb size is known to be quite faulty, they drop like flies, the only one i know that works well is a western digital caviar black. expensive it may be but it does store things and fast.
     
  14. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    well like Ive said it doesn't get that much activity and its new so i haven't really seen any performance issues. i just started hearing small random clicks one day and decided to scan it all out and figure out whats going on and i don't really wanna go back to using it if its just gonna crap out on me at any time
     
  15. DaminOG

    DaminOG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    i also have HD Tune Pro and the scans ive done with it turned up all green and ok/good
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/998714