Hard Drive jumpers?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ric101

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2007
Messages
27
hi

I recently got a new hard drive, and I noticed that the jumper has a block attached to it, from what I know is that block limits the data rate to 1.5gbs,. All I want to know is, if I remove it will it give me 3gbs data rate or not, and whether or not it will do my computer any harm.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Do you know if your motherboard supports SATA 3GB/s? What motherboard do you have? On some older motherboards that only support SATA 1.5Gb/s the drive may not be detected and thats about the worst that can happen.

But be aware those jumpers can do more then just specify the data rate. You should check the documentation of the drive.
 

Ric101

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2007
Messages
27
i know that my motherboard supports 3gb/s, I just need some assurence, what other things does those jumpers do, my hard drive didn't even come with any documents (or even a box), it came in a bag with bubble wrap. bought it from ebuyer. It also a seagate hard drive by the way
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
There would be documentation you can find on the manufacturer's website.

A jumper can also be used to delay the spin up, set spread spectrum settings, and a few other things on certain SATA drives. It depends on what pins the jumper is on.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
I agree you need to read the documentation on the drive maker's site. As an example the WD raptors have about 3 jumper settings on the back of the drive for various things.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,410
Right, I did not see the seagate drive. It is what I get for reading too quickly.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Yup, I didn't see that in his last post either. But if the jumper is placed onto the other two pins I'm not sure what it would do if anything, odd there'd be more pins if they didn't serve some purpose...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top