Hard Drive life and OS speed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

220volt

Rule of thumb.

Reinstall your XP every 6 moths if you want it to run smooth and will prolong the life of your Hard Drive as well.

And remember: always backup , backup , backup

I always stick to this rule and i never , ever had problems ith XP errors or hard drive noise and such. i have been running on the same windows and hard drive for 5 years already and its running much faster then my frineds pc's, and they all have new pc's.

Stoner

Banned
Reinstall your XP every 6 moths if you want it to run smooth and will prolong the life of your Hard Drive as well.
This is the very first time I have ever seen advice like that for XP.
I rather doubt it.

My mother's laptop has run for about 2 years or so, and only on the factory install.
No problems, no deteoriation/degredation of performance. When I check it out every 3 or 4 months, it seems the same to me. And it has uptimes lasting up to several months.

Heck, I've gotten 98se to last longer than 2 years without a reinstall.

Mostly, I can't see a reinstall unless there has been corruption by malware or hardware failure. Or tweaking till it's broken :D

And remember: always backup , backup , backup
I agree with that completely. I prefer drive imaging for the os partition and data on a separate partition, backed up to cd.

220volt

That depends how much surfing you do, and what do you use your XP for.
If your mother is doing lot of surfing, 3D aplications, downloading mp3's and videos, i am very suprised that you haven't seen degredation.
I am getting lot out of my XP so i do reinstall every six months.
registry will eventualy get backup and full of junk and you will start seeing poor performance.
It is microsoft.