1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hard Drive not detected on boot

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by dwag70, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dwag70

    dwag70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Swapped a CD Drive which should not cause this but it is where the problem started

    Try to boot and it does not detect the drive. Auto detect does not find any drives

    Let it continue to try and it ask for a boot disk when supplied it still will not boot.

    Tried to set the paramaters for the drive myself and boot it did not detect ?

    What is going on ? I am lost ... Any ideas or ways to take this ?
    it is an AMD K7 750 motherboard?
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    What to you have for drives and how are they attached? Meaning what's on which cable. All Jumper settings OK?
     
  3. dwag70

    dwag70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    I have disconnted all drives And the jumper are set correctly
    except the HD
     
  4. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    If there are no drives visable in BIOS and you are sure about the jumpers and cables, try resetting CMOS using the jumper located near the battery. Let me know if you don't know how to this or there isn't one.
     
  5. dwag70

    dwag70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    When I boot I get this
    RPL-ROM-ADR 00d0-09fc 085f
    RPL-ROM -IRQ 5
    RPL-ROM-CC00
    RPL-ROM-FFC

    Boot failure Please insert boot Disk
    And that message repeats over and over

    I did attempt to reset the CMOS but maybe I did not do it correctly
     
  6. dwag70

    dwag70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    So I reset the CMOS again and got two Messages
    CMOS Battery LOW and
    CMOS Memory wrong size

    Then went into CMOS Set up reset Date and tried to get it to auto detect HHD ...
     
  7. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Try going into CMOS and choose Default settings. Save and exit.
     
  8. dwag70

    dwag70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Did that and it still will not dectect the HHD

    Removed the battery sicne it will pop out and tried again still no luck on finding the HHD ....

    Still no luck


    But when you watch the boot order that pops up on the screen it is not in the order I set
    Keep looking for SCSI and Network to boot from
     
  9. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    I know you've done some of this, so just look at it as an overview. If no HD seen in BIOS:

    Wrong jumper settings
    Bad Cable
    Bad IDE controller. Try the other one.
    Bad Power Connector
    Cmos not reset correctly
    Dead HD
    Bad MB
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540629

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice