Hard drive not recognized

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jwv13

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
153
Hey guys, I have a problem; I'm repairing a gateway emachines T6420 with xp, media center pc. When it tries to boot it comes up with disk boot failure, insert boot disk (no change after inserting disk)! I went into bios and of course it's not recognizing any drives, not even the cd/dvd. I replaced the hard drive and cd; the connections are good. Is ther anything I can check other than what I've already done; any suggestions at all!! Please help! Is there a setting in bios I should be looking at? Any help would be deeply appreciated:)
 

jwv13

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
153
in bios it says NONE next to master, slave along with secondary (NONE)
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
Pata, ata, ide all the same.
Is the hard drive and the cdrom on the same ribbon?
Are they jumperd correctly?
Depending on how new the board is there might be an option to enable pata.
Also try changing the ribbon
 

jwv13

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
153
they're jumped correctly, I changed the ribbon, but the HD has a seperate ribbon and the board is about 3 years old, I'll look to see if there is a setting for pata. thanks
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
If bios is not recognising the drives then I suspect there is a problem with the onboard pata controllers.
The only way to test is to see if the drives are ok by try them in another machine, then you will know if it is the motherboard at fault.
 

jwv13

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
153
Thanks for your help bigbear! I actually have two emachines I'm repairing with similar problems; so I took a hard drive out of one, replaced the power supply on the other, put a graphics card in the same one and I at least have one accepting the OS installation. Not bad considering I could get neither to boot at all
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top