1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hard Drive Problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by pablo2u, Dec 16, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pablo2u

    pablo2u Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    I keep getting an error message "the volume does not contain a recognized file system"
    I reformat the drive(NTFS) and it is good for a short while......then same message. The drive shows as healthy in Computer Management.

    Windows XP Pro
    Seagate ST320011A HD (problem drive)
    Maxtor 5T030H3 (boot drive)
    1 ghz pc2100 DDR
    Athlon 1.33
    Nvidia GeForce2

    Any Suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  2. NiteNow

    NiteNow

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    17
    Seems like the same problem Ive got at home now (http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=62027).

    Only thing Ive found so far is checking the disk with chkdisk: http://www.microsoft.com/windows200...2000/techinfo/reskit/en-us/w2000msgs/3800.asp

    Dont know if this could be related in any way....I installed my disk using the /b option... http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q169620

    One of my coworkers also suggested trying to boot with a slackware (linux) cd Ive got and use the disk tools there to fix it....so I guess Ill try that too if all else fails....

    Hope you get it right again! :)
     
  3. pablo2u

    pablo2u Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Drvie works fine....No hardware problems.......Tried zeroing the drive with seagate installation disc. See if that works.
     
  4. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    It sounds like it is becoming corrupted. Sounds like it might have a circuit failing on it.

    Try the diagnostics from Seagate. http://www.seagate.com/support/seatools/index.html

    Also, one thing I have found is that sometimes the Master Boot Record will have corruption. To correct this, run fdisk /mbr to rewrite the master boot record.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61999

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice